Mr. GBH sulks and Skabenga is lost and found

The day has finally arrived. After all the agonising over our Green Cards which luckily arrived in the nick of time, we are more or less packed and ready to leave. The washing machine is merrily singing away, my orchid has gone to a friend’s house for a holiday, and time is on my side.

Over breakfast this morning, I looked at our South African news site, and was dismayed to see a report that Skabenga, the Oyster Box Hotel’s friendly resident cat has gone missing. Some of you may have seen him on my birthday blog a couple of years ago. The report says that he didn’t seem too well over the weekend, and was booked for a vet’s appointment on Monday, but disappeared on Sunday. He has never been known to leave the hotel grounds before, and there is a search party out looking for him and also an appeal on their FB page. I do hope he’s okay.

dscn2393

My usually friendly Mr. GBH seems to be sulking since I told him that I’m going to be away for six weeks, and that there’ll be no more photo shoots for a while.

DSCN2083

We have a cute new resident who keeps popping his head up out of the water. Usually by the time I’ve fetched the camera, he’s disappeared again, but today I did manage to shoot him. Being a turtle, his name has to be Terrence

DSCN4356

PS: I’ve just seen a report that Skabenga has been found in Phoenix, a township a few miles away from Umhlanga, and has been returned to his posh home just in time for High Tea. So all’s well that ends well, but to have been found so far away, he must have been ‘catnapped’. I’m sure he was less than impressed. There was a generous reward offered, plus a one night stay at the 5 star hotel. It certainly does make one wonder.

Next time you see me, I will be in London for a couple of nights, recovering from jet lag. Have a great rest of the week.

83 comments on “Mr. GBH sulks and Skabenga is lost and found

  1. Safe travels! And I’m so glad about your MIA cat. They often disappear to die. I thought that was the case and am happy to hear he is back at home! I’ve always wanted to visit London. Say “Cheerio!” to the Queen for me! πŸ˜‰

  2. Hope I’m not too late to wish you a safe and pleasant journey. I just got back from a very much shorter trip myself. It was fun, but I’m tired. (Can’t call it jet lag when I’ve been traveling in a camper van.) πŸ˜‰

  3. Very relieved to hear the good news about Skabenga. And I’m sure GBH will be over his sulks by the time you return. Happy, safe travels Sylvia! Nice to know you’ll be only a couple of hours away for a day or two at least πŸ™‚ xx

  4. Mr GBH looks handsome even when sulking! and i must say hello to T! glad that Skabenga is back in his posh residence. Wishing you and Hubby wonderful time! πŸ™‚

  5. wow – that is crazy to think that he might have been cat-napped – but things like that really do happen (sadly) – anyhow, I like the look of Terrance πŸ™‚ and cute to Mr. GBH sulk….

Comments can start a conversation. :)

