If it’s Friday it must be London

Well, our two days in London are almost over, and tonight we “sit back, relax and enjoy the flight” for 11 hours to Johannesburg. I would have enjoyed the night flight from Miami to Heathrow much more, if the temperature on the plane hadn’t been so freezing cold, and also if the guy in front of me hadn’t had his seat fully reclined for the whole of the trip. The extra space one pays for in Premium Economy is somewhat negated when the seat in front is right in one’s face. I’m sure Virgin must have added an extra row of seats and squeezed everyone up.

We had fabulous sunny and warm weather for both days we were here, and took the train up to London to just wander around and do a little shopping. Eros seemed to be doing a happy dance under the beautiful blue sky.

IMG_7571

I had to take a pic of the beautiful architecture in the Old Brompton Road.

IMG_7570

Of course, no trip to London would be complete without a visit to Harrods., so we took the tube to Knightsbridge, and had a good browse aroundΒ  the amazing and pricey merchandise on all seven floors. A million square feet of luxury and everyday items, and all I bought was a box of crystallised ginger for my mom. I couldn’t resist having my photo taken with this giant Harrods teddy bear.

IMG_7567

We walked our legs off around London’s streets, looking at nothing in particular and everything in general. There’s just something so unique about this city, and although it’s terribly crowded and noisy, there’s always something to admire.Β  Here’s the historic London Pavilion, and the inevitable London red bus. Do any of you know what the statue is on the top?

IMG_7575

One thing I didn’t get a photo of, was the metallic gold Ferrari convertible which roared away from the traffic lights like a bat out of hell with attitude. The last time we were in Knightsbridge, I saw this Gold Spider 458, so maybe the owner had swapped it for the latest model. Too much money, so little taste.

img_6269

In a few minutes we’ll be on our way to Heathrow to await our eleven hour overnight flight to South Africa, and tomorrow we’ll be driving down to the coast, where we’ll meet up with our daughter who is flying down from Johannesburg. I’m so looking forward to seeing her, as well as my sister and my mom. See you on the other side of the ocean.

Have a great weekend.

97 comments on “If it’s Friday it must be London

  1. Nice pictures. We were planning 2 weeks there; if all had gone to plan, I’d be flying home form London tomorrow, 29th! Alas! Instead, I’m at home doing yardwork most days..

    Not a Ferrari fan, so a gold one is completely not my cuppa. That statue of top is Neptune, no?

    • Thanks so much, Madhu. Yes, it was far more pleasant, but two hours longer than the flight to London. The cabin temperature was much better and the so was the service. I also didn’t have anyone sitting in my lap, which really helped a lot. πŸ™‚

  2. Dang! I’m twice jealous. My sister was just there! I was so happy for her. Then again, been so jelly of the pictures I was seeing. Hihi. So happy for you too. πŸ™‚ How ungrateful of me when I’m actually enjoying my time here in Greece.

  3. Lovely to see your wonderful pics of you in London Sylvia…and by now, you will be enjoying your time with your family in SA. So rude of that passenger, I’ve had that happen to me too. Have a wonderful time and happy, safe travels everywhere you go πŸ™‚ xx

  4. That car still looked great even if it is an extravagant status symbol.
    Like London great to look at but I would not like to live there.
    It is there so enjoy it as I enjoy your post.

  5. Thanks for the update, Sylvia. Great that your other flight was more comfortable! And now you’re enjoying the fabulous vistas on the coast, in good time before your mom’s birthday! Have a wonderful time!

  6. Hope you have a more considerate person in front of you on the next leg Sylvia. Lovely to just wander around taking in the amazing vibe of a great city. Safe travels to SA…

  7. in oggi viaggio a Londra si ha sempre modo di scoprire qualcosa di nuovo non ci si stanca mai di essere sorpresi! Buon viaggio di ritorno nella tua nuova casa in Sudafrica…non ho notzie, l’hai poi finita?
    un grande sorriso

    • Yes, as Samuel Johnson once said, “When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life.” πŸ™‚ We are in South Africa for a month, then back to England, then back to Florida. I’m exhausted just thinking about all those flights. πŸ™‚

  8. You pretty much summed up the reason I can’t bring myself to do any flying anymore in that first paragraph. Eleven hour flight is like my worst nightmare, but I suppose it can’t be helped with the places you two want to go. I know you’ll get to relax once you arrive back in familiar territory.

    • I’m feeling better after a bath and sitting with my feet up. Long haul flights do get intolerable. I think I’m getting too old for this lark. πŸ˜• Off to bed soon. I’ll probably feel different in the morning. πŸ™‚

  9. I’d go for Britannia on the building, but not being a Londoner I could be totally wrong! And I hate it when people lie in your lap like that, how are you supposed to see the screen to watch a movie? Or eat a meal? Selfish… hope tonight’s flight is much better and see you in SA!!

  10. Beautiful photos of London. Hope you have a nice flight with a little more room than the last one. Looking forward to the next leg of your journey πŸ™‚

  11. Fab post,with great pics…..
    Hope you won’t freeze during your next flight , and have a polite passenger in front of you !
    Wishing you all the best, a big hug from
    A.

  12. I admit to having a phobia about flying, Sylvia, not assisted by your story of selfish passengers attempting to crush your legs. Anyway, so glad that you had a wonderful time in London. And now I know which city stole the blue skies from us shivering mortals on the SE coast!

  13. thank you for taking me back to a fabulous city, Sylvia! i’ll take London anytime! πŸ™‚
    thanks for sharing and safe travels to J. πŸ™‚

  14. Oh man that’s what I hate about selfish people who recline all the time, I’m no shy about expressing my dislike either though, I tell them right out.

    .. Politely of course πŸ˜›

  15. It’s like a domino effect on planes. One person puts their seat back and everyone else has to. I really used to try not to, despite the discomfort.

    Looks like a cross between Boadicea and Britannia.

    I like London. Years since I’ve been though. I loved working there. It’s soooooo exuberant.

    Buen viaje for the next leg. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kate. I also try to be considerate of the person behind me. He was also one of these bouncy people who can’t sit still. I wanted to hit him over the head with my bread roll. πŸ˜„

      • Yeah. It’s not the fault of the person behind because the one in front is thoughtless. We had one in front passenger shove his seat back and spill my red wine. We ended up with bottles of champagne as compensation πŸ™‚

  16. I too hate it when people just stretch themselves eating up so much space that too in daytime !!! And after paying extra, this must have been horrible !!! Lovely pics and have a safe trip πŸ˜€ Eagerly waiting to see a new world from your eyes πŸ™‚

  17. Just like my office, airplanes are always freezing. I can’t stand that! Wow, thanks for sharing your beautiful photos.You look so cute standing with the teddy bear, Sylvia. Have a wonderful time!

    • Thanks, Jill. How is one supposed to work or relax with cold air blowing straight at one? I turned off the air flow thingies over our seats, but it didn’t seem to help. Maybe I’ll complain if it’s the same story tonight. I don’t like making a fuss though. I’m all for a quiet life. πŸ˜ƒ

  18. Wow…… Fab shots, how fun. I don’t envy sitting with that man in your lap, . I can’t imagine being on a plane for that length of time. Your pics are great. One day I’ll make it to England;)! Looking forward to your next adventure πŸ˜‰ can’t wait. Safe travels .

  19. Oh I hate when the person reclines the seat all the way like that – and did you say even with an upgrade! argh. Eros in the blue sky is a great capture – and I really like the biker/grand building shot…
    and safe travels on your next flight xxoo

Comments can start a conversation. :)

