South African Best Surfers in Action

Last week the Quicksilver ‘Get Free’ surfing competition was held at Bronze Beach here in Umhlanga, and we just happened to be there to capture some of the action. These fantastic photos were taken by hubby, who unlike myself, is able to hold the camera as steady as a rock.

DSCN4481

Umhlanga Rocks is well known for having some of the best waves for surfing in the country.

DSCN4482

I marvel at how these guys manage to stay on their boards. Maybe they’re super-glued to their feet. πŸ™‚

DSCN4497

I was wondering how long ago it was since man discovered surfing as a sport, and was amazed to read that way back in 1779, after Captain James Cook had been killed by Hawaiians, Lt. James King who assumed command of his ship ‘The Discovery’, wrote two whole pages in Capt. Cook’s journal, describing surfboard riding as practised by by the locals at Kealakekua Bay on the Kona coast of the Big Island. Surfing was already an ancient Hawaiian tradition, and is thought to date back to the 4th century AD.

photo courtesy of Bishop Museum archive.

photo courtesy of Bishop Museum archive.

This post is linked to this week’s ‘Photo a Week’ challenge, which calls for action shots.

Wishing you all a great action-packed weekend.

 

 

 

91 comments on “South African Best Surfers in Action

  1. how amazing to be so close to all that action. living on a great lake, we see “transplants” from California , trying to surf on the lake on High Wind days.. yes it is pretty comical , but never seeing up close like you, it does draw a hugh crowd..
    your Husband did an awesome job.

  2. What a wonderful event to see. But what I like most about your Umhlanga photos is the ships on the horizon. Takes me back to my childhood. I could watch the ships for hours.

  3. Great images. I think I once mentioned that my son was rescued there during an ill fated surfing attempt – not a place for amateurs! What a fascinating illustration from ancient Hawaii – you so rarely see people at play in old illustrations.

  4. I also have a few issues holding that camera still, Sylvia πŸ˜‰

    I absolutely love surfing – growing up on the beach it was my favorite pastime (watching those gorgeous boys!) πŸ˜€

  5. Great shots taken by your husband Sylvia , of course I’m sure you told him when to click πŸ˜‰
    A mighty strong surf there … I really do admire their skill .
    Much time spent bobbing and waiting for THE wave I’m sure , but when it happens – it must be thrilling !

  6. Brilliant shots taken by hubby. What a surfing show. I am sure it was fun to watch. Surfing sure has been around for a long time. Nice bit of history there πŸ™‚

  7. Cool action shots. I would have loved to have learned to surf, but I am a lousy swimmer and hate my head under water and now it is far too late as I don’t have good balance any more 😦

  8. Surfing is one of those things I’ve always wanted to try, but I know I’ll never get over my fear of sharks and other things that lurk in the waters. Do very much admire the great action shots though and your take on the challenge!

    • Thanks so much, Torrie. I also know that I could never in a million years feel comfortable out there in the ocean with all it’s possible surprises. 😯 I really admire people who are so adept at water sports.

  9. These remind me of beach in Fl. where I used to live. I often see serfers at the beach year round. However, the waves were not as spectacular as this place. Your hubby has great steady hand, indeed. No coffee for him?

  10. Great photo’s Sylvia’s (hubby) :). I love the last more distant shot, its awesome. Plus I loved the history lesson….who would have guessed!!

  11. That’s interesting. I hadn’t realised that surfing went back that far, but I guess it’s logical that as long as there have been amazing waves on the sea and boats, somebody would try riding on boards, too. I wonder if they ever speared fish while surfing.

  12. awesome captures by your Hubby, Sylvia! look at the waves! what an interesting history of the sport. thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

