3 days … 3 quotes challenge: Shine a light

Thanks to Aletta of ‘nowathome‘, for tagging me to do the 3 days, 3 quotes challenge. As some of you may know by now, I really love lighthouses, especially the red and white one here in Umhlanga. My quote for today is the caption beneath the photo.

"Many people spend too much time trying to be the captain of someone else's boat. Learn to be a lighthouse and the boats will find their way." ~ Anon

Many people spend too much time trying to be the captain of someone else’s boat. Learn to be a lighthouse and the boats will find their way.” ~ Anon

The rules of the challenge are:

1) Thank the person who nominated you.
2) Post a quote each day for 3 days.
3) Each day nominate 3 new bloggers to take part.

My 3 nominees for today are:

Marylou of ‘natuurfreak’

Geralyn of ‘Where my feet are’ 

Jude of ‘Travel Words’ 

(No problem if you don’t have the time or inclination to accept this challenge.)

56 comments on “3 days … 3 quotes challenge: Shine a light

  1. I want to be the captain of my own boat :). I have noticed your love for lighthouses. May I look forward to this one being turned into a painting too? In three week’s time I will have a week holiday right next to the highest lighthouse on our side of the Adriatic. I will take photos for you 🙂

  2. Have you seen the Kommetjie lighthouse in the Western Cape? It’s a small one that not many people visit. Really nice place to go if you don’t want to be surrounded by others

  3. This has a lovely old postcard feel to it Sylvia ! I was looking for rolled up trousers and woven picnic baskets 🙂
    Your favourite lighthouse is a fine inspiration for the quote found .

  4. This is a great quote and I’ve never heard it before. Very good and one I probably need to learn much better! Also, pic is crying out to be a painting……better get busy on that. 🙂

  5. This looks like a painting? One of yours perhaps? And I love that quote!
    Thanks for the nomination Sylvia, I’m not all that good with quotations, but I may give it a go in a week or two, once I have my recent Cornish posts out of the way 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

