Bench Series #28: A very wise bench

“A wise old owl sat on an oak;
The more he saw the less he spoke;
The less he spoke the more he heard;
Why aren’t we like that wise old bird?” ~ Nursery rhyme

Jude’s Bench Series this month calls for benches that have unusual detail. This beautiful owl bench at Winkworth Arboretum, Godalming, is carved out of a tree trunk with a chainsaw. The owl detail is absolutely amazing and a great example of how successfully, art and nature can be combined.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The other unusual detail on the bench, is my mom-in-law, who was 99-years-old at the time.

93 comments on “Bench Series #28: A very wise bench

  1. Pingback: Bench series #29 | TRAVEL WORDS

  2. Can I say it? I just have to…three gorgeous birds on a bench πŸ™‚ Sylvia, the owl carving is just beautiful and I love this photo of you and your lovely mother-in-law πŸ™‚ xx

  3. This may be one of the loveliest benches I ever saw, Ad! I looked at it in close up and would have got closer still if I could πŸ™‚ Though I guess you’d need a cushion for extended stays πŸ™‚ Neat rhyme too. And now I’m off to check out Sue’s link to see what I’ve been missing. Who says blogging’s not educational?

  4. Wonderful bench and the “sitters” are fun to see. Such detail on the carvings. Thanks for your blog visits and likes and good comments Sylvia.

  5. I never saw this on my visits to Winkworth! Maybe it appeared after I left (2011) but I think this is my favourite this week. Such talent! And such lovely ladies sitting on it too πŸ™‚

  6. Great minds – I was looking to see if I had an image of one of the Winkworth benches, but don’t appear to have kept it! πŸ˜€

Comments can start a conversation. :)

