Bench Series #28: Balinese carved bench

Jude’s Bench Series for the month of July calls for benches with unusual details. The most ornate bench I’ve ever seen, is this intricately carved one in a gallery in Bali, Indonesia. Hubby insisted that I sat on it whilst he took the photo. (The hefty price tag doesn’t include me.) πŸ™‚ It was rather too expensive to even consider buying, and anyway, I don’t think it would have fitted in my suitcase.

Hand carved from Balinese teak. Zoom in the see the intricate detail of leaves and fruit.

Hand carved from Balinese teak. Zoom in to see the intricate detail of leaves and fruit.

 

91 comments on “Bench Series #28: Balinese carved bench

    • Thanks, Lorna. I didn’t sit on it long enough to find out. I just quickly perched myself there for the photo. Didn’t want the proprietors of the shop thinking we were in the market to buy it. They can be very persuasive. πŸ™‚

  1. The woodcarving in Bali is simply unbelievable! It’s hard to imagine how much work went into creating this masterpiece. When we were there, we bought 3 hand carved Buddha heads, each a little bit different, which I still need to find a place for in my house! I’m sure they were much cheaper than that bench though, and much easier to transport home!! πŸ™‚

  2. So that would make you a bench model? Stand next to it – show it off! What happens if they inadvertently sell you with the bench? Stranger things have happened…?

  3. the bench is typically exotic and nice, but… hey, who’s that pretty young lady sitting on it, please?… πŸ˜‰ her beloved hubby must be very much in love with her… πŸ™‚

  4. This must be one of the most intricate benches I have ever seen! I love the little parrot (?) peeking out on the left there. I assume this is carved from one piece of wood and it must have taken a long time.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

