This time last week……Delicious lunch and swinging benches

It doesn’t seem like a whole week has passed since we were on our way home from a fabulous few days in Key West. Our son and his family were headed to Miami for the weekend, and we all stopped off for lunch at the beautiful resort town of Islamorada, which is about ninety minutes south of Miami.

IMG_8257

The waterfront restaurant ‘Marker 88’ looked very popular and the food was excellent. Here’s my scrumptious and super fresh shrimp salad, which I never wanted to end.

IMG_8259

We ate inside, because there were no shady tables left outside and it was really hot. Afterwards, the children had some fun with one of the swinging benches. In fact, Max got that bench swinging so hard that we had to rescue the salt and pepper pots. ( I guess this qualifies for Jude’s colourful bench challenge.)

DSCN5195

If we’d had more time to spend, and it hadn’t been so stinging hot, we would have sat here for a little siesta after lunch.

IMG_8254

Hubby and I are thinking that we should return here for a few days out of summer season. It’s not as vibrant as Key West, but looked far more relaxing and is only half the distance to drive.

IMG_8246

Wishing you all a great weekend. Have lots of fun.

94 comments on “This time last week……Delicious lunch and swinging benches

  1. I agree with you there Sylvia. I wouldn’t want that delicious shrimp salad to end either. I love shrimp and any salad. Amazing shots of a wonderful time you had there. πŸ˜€

  2. Hi Sylvia. I couldn’t agree more about staying in Islamorada instead of Key West. It looks inviting to me, too. The lunch looks scrumptious and those adorable grand kids are growing up fast. Am glad you had an enjoyable time.:)

  3. Looks gorgeous, you will definitely have to go back when it’s cooler. That shrimp salad looks divine, no wonder you didn’t want it to end! So glad you had such a lovely time with your family Sylvia, and I hope have a lovely weekend ahead. It’s my daughter’s birthday on Sunday, so I’m looking forward to some family time myself πŸ™‚ xx

  4. I’ve gone all gooey eyed at the sight of that little pier and the bay! You can have my salad- I’m off for a paddle πŸ™‚ (I only need to make it to the garden- it’s raining cats and dogs here 😦 )

  5. Pingback: This time last week……Delicious lunch and swinging benches | Oyia Brown

  6. Now that’s a different way to eat lunch, though I’m not sure I’d want to be eating and swinging at the same time πŸ˜• Love the colourful Adirondack chairs too and I am not going to mention that delicious looking shrimp salad…

    Have a good weekend Sylvia, how’s the new house coming on?

  7. I thought your salad looked nice but the menu on their website came up oddly. Was that the alligator reef salad? Those shrimps look like prawns or scampi to me though! One of their key largo places makes an ‘attempt’ at a veg selection I was pleased to note πŸ™‚

    • Yes it was. I knew it had a funny sort of name. πŸ™‚ No alligators were harmed in the making of it though. Prawns here, however big they are, are called shrimp. πŸ™‚ We were originally going to stop at Bayside in Key Largo, but DiL had a change of plan when the kids got restless in the car. This place was really great though.

  8. Ohh now I wanna go….lol, we have eaten lunch in Islamarada , I’d love to spend a few days there, we have friends, who go fishing there ever year. I agree a good place to go and unwind and still enjoy a few cocktails;). With out all the noise, and people;)))

Comments can start a conversation. :)

