WPC: Grid work in our ‘abandoned’ house

The Weekly Photo Challenge ‘Grid’ is an opportunity for me to show you some of the work hubby has done in the main bedroom of the ‘abandoned house’ we bought last year.

dscn9458

He had what was to my mind, the rather ambitious idea of creating a barrel ceiling, and has done so all by himself with the help of equipment he bought over the internet. First he designed a template and then manufactured a wooden grid, which he erected underneath the existing ceiling.

DSCN5266

He then hoisted up the drywall ceiling boards onto the grid, and screwed them in place.

IMG_8280

It didn’t take him too long, but was a lot of work for one person. He then had to spackle over the joins, and sand it all by hand. I have a selfie he sent me, with his whole face and head covered in white plaster dust, which I’m tempted to show you, but maybe he wouldn’t appreciate it. It’s pretty scary. πŸ™‚

IMG_8717

He put up the fancy mouldings along the sides and ordered flexible curved ones for the ends. When they arrived, he was taken byΒ  surprise by how heavy they were, weighing 68 lbs each, so he had to devise a way of getting them up there. With the aid of two cardboard boxes and the hoist, he managed to do it, but described the experience as single-handedly attempting to nail two 16ft dead pythons to the ceiling.

IMG_8714

Well, all his efforts have paid off and now all that’s left to do is to paint the whole thing. He says that’s the easy part.

IMG_8720

He’s now on a roll, and wants to do the same ceiling in the dining room. I’m so glad I don’t have to live in the house whilst he’s doing the remodelling work, but he’s enjoying himself immensely.

To see more grid entries, just click the WPCΒ  badge.

weekly-photo-challenge-logo

 

 

143 comments on “WPC: Grid work in our ‘abandoned’ house

  1. This is the kind of challenging work one can enjoy.
    It is not easy but so rewarding especially when accomplished single handed.
    This comment comes from a retired construction worker.
    I admire your talented husband and enjoyed the post. _/\_
    .

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Jack. I’ll be sharing more photos as the work progresses. He has taken on many such challenges during our married life, even when he was working full time. I don’t know where he gets his energy from, but he does enjoy what he’s doing and gets great satisfaction from a job well done. πŸ™‚

  2. Hello dear Sylvia! Oh it’s so good to be back here again! I was so hoping for an update on your home and I found this not too far back! Wow…I am in awe of your amazing hubby and all he has accomplished…and on his own too! You must be so proud, and I know you are πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful weekend my friend, I’ll be back properly next week, still easing in and have a book review to finish and post today (first ever I was asked to do right after I closed up shop on my blog, but it was from Harper Collins and about memoir, so I couldn’t refuse. Great book, but I’ll be able to concentrate better once it’s done!!). See you soon πŸ™‚ xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

