WPC ‘Extraordinary’ Stonehenge.

“I have seen so many extraordinary things, nothing seems extraordinary any more.” ~ Lewis Carroll

This ancient monument at Stonehenge has raised many questions as to how the giant stones, the largest of which weighs more than 40 tons and stands 24 feet high, actually got to Salisbury Plain. It’s believed that work on it was started with primitive tools in Neolithic times over 5,000 years ago, and took about 1,500 years to complete. It’s definitely one of the most extraordinary things I’ve ever seen.

DSCN3594

weekly-photo-challenge-logo

I’m also linking this to the 3 Day Quote Challenge. Thanks, Ute for the nomination. Here are the rules for the challenge. I’ll leave the nominations open to any of you who would like to participate.

  • Post one quotation a day for three days (they can be from other sources or one of your own).
  • Nominate 3 other bloggers to participate per post.
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
73 comments on “WPC ‘Extraordinary’ Stonehenge.

  1. The precision with which the stones were placed is amazingly accurate. There is still a strange and magical atmosphere, notwithstanding the many tourists that are strolling around. Have seen it twice, Sylvia. The first time on a school trip, and I touched the stones. Loved it.

  2. Fabulous choice Sylvia. Would LOVE to have a chance to see it. I think I read recently that they’ve discovered much more of the configuration under the ground using infrared technology. Amazing

  3. This is one of, if not, the most fascinating place I have visited. Learnt about ir in primary school and was on my list when I visited GB. I think I sat on the fallen stone (middle right background) while another tourist took my photo. Certainly an extra-ordinary place.

  4. Stonehenge is definitely on my list. Went to London in July, but we didn’t have enough time. 😦 As a Breton, I feel compelled to go. πŸ™‚
    Have you seen Carnac in Brittany?

  5. Pingback: WPC ‘Extraordinary’ Stonehenge. | Eu Vivo a Melhor Idade

  6. I feel fortunate to have seen the area when we were allowed to wander close to the stones… I will never revisit it as it would be too hard remembering it as it was… just like your photo.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

