WPC: Careful (ly) does it.

So many things we do in life require great care and precision.

This basket seller in Phuket must carefully balance his load before setting off down the road with it.

A Kosovan ex gymnast who I met after his morning run along the Umhlanga promenade, had carefully kept his muscles in fine shape, even though it was more than twenty-five years since he competed and won a medal in the Olympics.

On the beach, this lady is carefully considering her next move.

IMG_7863

My sister carefully painted this reproduction of a painting of his wife Annie Hall by our artistic Dutch ancestor Jan Toorop.

IMG_8284

Mr. GBH is carefully contemplating the best way to go about eating his rather huge catch.

DSCN5455

Be careful to really enjoy your weekend.

To enter this weeks photo challenge, click the link below.

weekly-photo-challenge-logo

75 comments on “WPC: Careful (ly) does it.

  1. Sylvia, is your nickname “Ad?” I just noticed this and wondered. . .
    This was one of my very favorite posts you have made since I started following you! The painting by your sister is exquisite snd great to know about your Danish artist ancestor, too. We have Swedish and German on my Mom’s side but my Dad’s side has art in their blood. My Dad’s great uncle was Alexander Calder. He is most known for his balanced sculptures. My Dad painted, his mother “colored” cards for the Cincinnati Ohio based, Gibson card company and my brother is both sculptor and muralist. I try not to belittle my drawings but playfully call them “dinky doodles.” πŸ™‚
    This was a special picture of your friend the.blue heron and liked the balance in act of one snd the athleticism of another in your photos of men. The couple look cozy and warm on the beach playing cards. Outstanding post and “Carefully executed.” πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Robin. I love, “dinky doodles.” Such a fun name! Glad you like this latest post of mine. πŸ™‚ My artist ancestor was Dutch, not Danish. When I first starting blogging many years ago on a South African site, we didn’t reveal our real names for some strange reason. I was ADinParadise, short for ‘Another Day in Paradise’ so people used to call me AD, and it stuck. My real nickname is Beany, which my dad used to call me, because I was long and thin. πŸ˜†

      • I like Beany, Sylvia. My Dad called me “Robbie girl” when the song and movie “Georgie Girl” came out. Good to know your reason for Ad and now I know the rest of the story. πŸ™‚

  2. Wünsche einen schânen Samstag was für ein tolles Foto der Fisch ist doch viel zu groß für den Reiher?Wünsche ein schânes sonniges Wochenende lieber Gruß Gislinde

  3. equilibri! la vita Γ¨ un continuo stare in equilibrio…guai se non ci riuscissimo! cosΓ¬ tu sei di origine olandese? sono stata diverse volte in Olanda, paese molto lido ed affascinante…l’ultima volta ma solo di passaggio, nel mio viaggio estivo

    • Yes my father was Dutch, but from Indonesia. He came to England after the World War 2, where he met and married my mom. I have a lot of relatives in Holland, but have only been there twice, and also many in Indonesia who I’ve never met.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

