Keep Calm and Scary on

In September, after a delicious dinner at the Makaranga Garden Lodge with my sister and brother-in-law, the walk back up to the car park was quite hair raising. Do you think these photos of the sculptures which seemed to leap out of the darkness at me, are spooky enough for Halloween?

IMG_8491

In daylight, they hadn’t look half as sinister but In the gloom, and after a couple of glasses of wine, they took on an otherworldly appearance.

IMG_8486

This guy looked seriously menacing and I was really glad I wasn’t on my own.

IMG_8485

This was my ‘favourite’ fright; a disembodied bald head nestling in the bushes, and I still had to walk up those steps!

IMG_8492

I think after all those spine-chilling images, you need a tasty little treat.

IMG_1055

Happy Halloween to you all, and as Zelda Witchy-Boo says,

DSCN5848

“Keep Calm and Scary On.”

75 comments on “Keep Calm and Scary on

  1. They are definitely scary enough! My favorite too is the head in the bushes. I bet you keep a cold eye on it when you passed it on the steps, just in case🌚 πŸŽƒ

  2. Hope the scare wore off of you once daylight’s hour came, dear Sylvia. The sculptures definitely reflect frightful images once the sun is down. We used to have a dog, Toby, who would be great and “Woof!” During day but once sunset he was scared of his shadow! πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve been so terrible about blogging and keeping up with other people’s blogs all year (or more) and I just was wondering, why do I never see any blogs from Sylvia any more!? So I hopped over, much belatedly I’m afraid, and found I’m not even following your blog. I don’t know how that happened. Anyway, I’m back on board now, and looking forward to catching up! I’m so sorry I’ve lost touch.

    I love that adorably decorated cake and those images really are gloomy and scary! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Cathy. I assumed you’d stopped blogging after returning to the USA. Hope all is well with you. Lots of things happened in my life this past few months. We were over in South Africa for my Mom’s 90th in May, and then again in September for her Memorial service. We also got our Green Cards in May, which makes travelling back and forth much easier. xx

      • Hi Sylvia. I haven’t purposely stopped blogging, and I hope to begin again soon, but I was taking an intensive month-long CELTA course in September and October and it’s now done! Hooray! I want to get back into a blogging routine as soon as possible.

        I’m glad you made it to your mom’s 90th birthday, but I’m so sorry to hear you lost her. I know you were really close, so I’m sure it was a blow for your family. I’m so sorry.

        So now you have Green Cards for… ? South Africa or the USA? Hope to be dropping by more regularly now. πŸ™‚

      • We have US Green Card. We’ve been SA permanent residents since 1970 and of course have British passports, so we have lots of options now. πŸ˜ƒ Yes my sister and I were both very close to our mom, but we knew it was time for her to leave us. xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

