The perfect day, not forgetting Home Depot.

So, yesterday being 50 years since hubby and I first laid eyes on one another, we decided to make it special by going out to lunch at Old Key Lime House which sits right on the Intracoastal.

IMG_8805

What a great place to dine this is, with beautiful views across the water and a really casual Florida atmosphere.

IMG_8807

I sipped my Sangria and hubby his Sam Adams, and we chatted about the time we first met and how our relationship developed over those first few weeks. We were absolutely besotted with one another, and happily still are.

IMG_8812

The food and service was excellent. I chose the shrimp and crab stuffed Mahi Mahi. which was so delicious.

IMG_8822

We did have a slice of  the scrumptious Key Lime Pie between us, but had eaten it all before I remembered that I’d forgotten to take a photo. Anyway, it tasted even better than it looked.

This was our first visit, but we enjoyed it so much that it’s going to be one of our favourite eating venues from now on. On the way out, I couldn’t resist having my photo taken with these two characters.

IMG_8829

Of course, hubby had had to take a day off from the house renovations, but all was not lost, as he did manage to fit in a visit to Home Depot and we also went to Tile and Decor to choose my bathroom tiles and trim. On the way home we stopped off to look at granite for the bathroom vanities. All in all, it was a most successful day.

I wish you all a splendid weekend. With any luck we may get some rain this evening. The clouds look very promising. Don’t you agree?

DSCN5874

87 comments on “The perfect day, not forgetting Home Depot.

  1. What a wonderful day, so happy for you dear Sylvia. You and hubby optimise the true and enduring love story ❤ And I hope you got your rain too, I remember those days of hoping for rain 😉 xx

  2. Congrats! 50 years – looking at your photo I cannot believe it. You guys must have been very young when you met. What a lovely place to celebrate – and a Sangria is never wrong:)

  3. So wonderful, you too still madly in love and it shows in all your blog posts, but especially this one. 50 years of loving – what a great thing. What a great day you two had – best wishes for many more years of bliss!!

  4. I wish I didn’t stop to read comments on the way down, Ad! I forget what I was going to say when I get here. 🙂 Ah- I remember! Yours must the only place in the world waiting for rain! Well, you and the Gobi Desert, that is. 🙂

  5. Hi Sylvia ! … First of all, many congrats from me and Yarri to you and Hubby and your 50 years together … I must say that you to are such a lovely couple …
    My favourite photo in this post, is the one of you …

    Much has been going on in my life this year … It contains both happiness and a lot of sorrow … And I hope that I will find strength to write a post about some of those things in my blog …
    My stepfather for 47 years passed away 2 weeks ago … His funeral is next friday … And I hope that mother can be with us that day …
    Losing a life partner after so many years is hard … Even worse for a person with Alzheimer … In some moments she is aware of her lost … And in other moments she is out looking for him …

    But enough about me …
    Again Sylvia , happy anniversary ! … And many hugs to both of you from me and my Little Yarri … // Maria 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Maria. What a lovely surprise to see your comment here. I’m so sorry for your loss and your worry about your dear mother’s condition. My darling mom passed away on the 1st September. I have loving thoughts about her every day, but I know that for her it was a sweet release. Sending love and hugs to you and sweet little Yarri. I hope to see a photo of him again very soon. 🙂 xx

  6. You had a fun a “productive” day! That eatery looks very much like one of our favorite lunch places, about 10 miles south of us on the intracoastal too. We got little rain tonight. That was great 🙂

  7. Happy 50th anniversary, Sylvia! You’re so lucky to still be besotted with each other after all this time, although I imagine, like any marriage, it still takes some work. Or maybe not in your case. 🙂 You look great and the anniversary celebration sounded like a truly wonderful one! 🙂

  8. You have so much to celebrate, Sylvia, I am glad you are. Congratulations! Also, your November in Florida looks dreamy, and I’m glad the Key Lime Pie was so good you ate it before a photo. That’s fun. 🙂

  9. So where DID you two meet? I’m trying to think where I was on 5 November 1965. Probably down at the neighbourhood street bonfire and eating parkin and bonfire toffee and waiting for the baked spuds to be done! Well done you two for staying the distance. I am gutted that you didn’t save any key lime pie for me though. I rather like that 😀

  10. Seeing that you both have many years of wisdom being a couple what advice would you give to those of us aspiring to be together just as long? How did you handle any bumps in the road? You sound like a lovely couple😊

Comments can start a conversation. :)

