Bench Series #46 In Sherwood Forest

After thinking I had nothing for Jude’s Bench Series this month, I found two more benches with messages, this time from our visit to Sherwood Forest, haunt of the legendary outlaw Robin Hood.

The first one just has a bit of graffiti which is quite indistinct. I really wonder what compels people to scribble on things that don’t belong to them. I can’t see any rude words though.

DSCN4756

This one has a notice attached.

DSCN4761

I must have know that Jude was going to want to see it, because I took a closeup.

DSCN4762

This must be John Lackland who came to the throne after King Richard. He ruled England from 1199 to 1216. He may have liked neither his brother King Richard I, nor the outlaw RobinΒ  of Loxley, but John wasn’t liked by many people either.

 

 

53 comments on “Bench Series #46 In Sherwood Forest

  1. Maybe now that people take selfies everywhere they go this kind of graffiti will disappear? I am guessing that more young people carry phones rather than pen-knives these days… hahaha. But graffiti goes back a long, long way – even the schoolboys in the middle ages carved their names on their desks. As for King John – well, I guess we did get the Magna Carta out of him, even if he did go back on it.

  2. old, rustic bench actually looks charming (if not for those unsightly marks). i don’t understand why people do that. it is sad. great find, Sylvia! πŸ™‚

  3. I get really irritated by people scribbling on benches, especially in peaceful rural locations. They should turn their heads to composing a haiku about the beautiful scenery and writing it down on a piece of paper to take home with them. No haiku on benches either!

  4. I wonder if by every bench we put a plank of wood and said, please carve here, it would make any difference. Sort of like putting a wooden guestbook next to the bench. πŸ˜€

  5. Strange looking bench but interesting to sit down.. For writing where it should not be written on, I think when you are young (I am guessing these were made by young people) you want to make things around you memorable. I can’t completely rule myself out as well πŸ™‚

  6. I think of folks who need to carve their mark in such places as similar to dogs marking their territory. I wonder if it’s primarily a male (macho) thing as in the canine world.

  7. I look at “benches” differently now ever since you introduced your bench photos. My favourite quote (and you know how much I like quotes) about benches is: by Napoleon Bonaparte “A throne is only a bench covered with velvet.” Have a wonderful day.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

