Beady Eyes in my backyard

What is Mr. Great Egret staring at so intently this morning?

DSCN5911

I look across the lake and spot a dark shape in the water.

DSCN5919

Oh yes, Mr. A is back again, and looks like he’s had a bit of a growth spurt since I last saw him. I can’t quite make out where his tail ends, but that head is huge.

DSCN5900

Here’s looking at you, Mr. A , but I’d rather you didn’t get too close with those beady eyes and that humongous jaw. I’ve never seen your teeth, and I hope it stays that way.

I’m linking my post to Rosie’s Animal Tales #46 on Blogspot.

Animal Tales Badge Final

71 comments on “Beady Eyes in my backyard

  1. I agree with you about the alligator, I wouldn’t want to get close enough to see his teeth. By the way, do you use a telephoto lens to get your bird photos or can you get really close to them.

    • They did remove one smaller than this a few years ago, after our neighbours complained. Our son who was visiting at the time, helped to put him in the truck. I think as long as no-one gets paranoid and complains, Mr. A is safe for now.

  2. Ugh – I hate the things. WE had large crocodiles when I was a child in NIgeria and they came very close to the houses at times. In Malaysia we have salties and they eat a few people every year. awful, awful, awful things. Stay safe!

    • Well I haven’t heard of any people being eaten in our neighbourhood. I’m wondering how long it will be before someone gets nervous and calls the trapper. I’m fine with having Mr. A around as long as he stays in the water. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Lol Sylvia, reminds me of our last stay near Tampa , every evening, mr. Beady eyes came swimming close to our hotel… Never saw his pearly whites either.. And yes, I’ll keep it that way too;)!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

