Gratitude list and flailing feathers

“Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.”William Arthur Ward

I was thinking this morning about all the things in my life that I’m so grateful for, and decided that there are far too many to list. Besides, a wonderful, loving husband, gorgeous family, loyal friends, a nice home, and money sufficient for all my needs, there are new daily blessings with every new day that dawns. Since we moved to Florida, I’ve had so much joy and fun from watching all the wonderful bird life right here in my backyard.

Yesterday, my good friend Mr. GBH came ambling by, just checking that everyone was behaving themselves along the water’s edge. Ms. Anhinga was keeping a low profile and thinking about lunch as he came past.

DSCN5936

Suddenly, “Whaaaa!!!” Mr GBH turned and gave her such a fright that she almost fell into the water, and all I could see were flailing feathers. She took the hint and flew away.

DSCN5937

What a bully he is, but he’s still my favourite. Just look at him as he stands victorious and cool as a cucumber, surveying his fishing territory. “Butter wouldn’t melt in his mouth” as my granny used to say.

DSCN5950

Happy Thanksgiving to all my American friends here on WordPress. Here’s a Thanksgiving blessing I found which is the last verse of a poem entitled “Twas the night of Thanksgiving” by C. J. Beaman an artist, musician and gourmet chef

“May your stuffing be tasty, may your turkey be plump,
May your potatoes & gravy have nary a lump,
May your yams be delicious, may your pies take the prize,
May your Thanksgiving dinner stay off of your thighs.”

 

 

 

 

 

76 comments on “Gratitude list and flailing feathers

  1. The GBH and wildlife are always fascinating to watch and photograph. The photo with the wings spread out showcases the variety of colors they have.
    Your grateful words are sending a positive message out into the blogosphere.
    Have a grand weekend …
    Issy 😎

  2. I think most of us too often forget about all we could be grateful for. And then when you have a friend like Mr. GBH, that’s just the icing of the cake, isn’t it. A lovely sentiment in this post – and lovely photos.

  3. questa signora deve ritenersi molto fortunata di essere seguita ed amata da una altrettanto bella Signora mollto seguita ammirata amata ed anche molto fortunata, che il buon Dio ti conservi a lungo tutto questo ma soprattutto il non comune pregio di amare le semplici cose
    buon tutto, Sylvia cara

  4. Mr GBH is such a gorgeous bird indeed Sylvia and I know how much fun it must to watch him during the day. Maybe Ms Anhinga intruded in his ‘manly bubble’. LOL!

    Gorgeous photos! Thanks for sharing. 😀 ♥

  5. The perfect poem for the day. Particularly the bit about staying off the thighs! Mr GBH may be gorgeous, but he is a bully. I think I have more things to be grateful for than I could list. Wishing I could share some with the poor refugees.

  6. Recently I was watching a program on animals…showing habits etc etc. I was wondering how they could get so close to the wild ones to observe so many details. You are blessed to have a front row seat for several animals. They really are individuals and have unique personalities. We can learn so much from them. Thanks for letting us in your backyard. 🙂

  7. Happy Thanksgiving Sylvia ! Always good to hear what’s a happening in your watery backyard , your birds and accompanying anecdotes always make me smile !
    I’ve mentioned before the lack of birds in our garden for ? reason … but this morning a perky little robin paid us a visit . Under the pergola – hidden to me -honeysuckle berries were demolished at a rate of knots 😀 I wonder if a hard Winter is on the cards ….

  8. Happy Thanksgiving! We’ll have a simple vegetarian Thanksgiving (all the fixins’ without the bird) . . . topped off with two kinds of PIE! Here’s to all the things we’re grateful for ~ food, fun, family, and friends!

  9. Beautiful pictures and little exciting story between Mr. GBH and Ms. Anhinga. I think Mr GBH just needs to be get her out of his way rather completely bullying her 🙂

    Love the last part of the post!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

