WPC ‘Oops’ : Whodunnit?

Yesterday when we arrived home, our next door mailbox was laying on the ground. The owners didn’t appear to be home, and I hoped they wouldn’t think that I was responsible. I assumed that their garden service truck must have run into it. When I left for the gym this morning, my neighbour was busy propping it up as best he could.

IMG_9012

With a wry smile, he told me his wife had clipped it when she drove in, but said that her car wasn’t damaged at all, which I think must be quite a miracle, as these postboxes are pretty heavy. Anyway, I think he did a great job, although the mailman will have to bend down a bit.

IMG_9014

Hope his wife manages to avoid hitting the trestle. I’m sure someone will be round to fix it properly next week, but it will have to be paid for. This kind of ‘Oops’ is quite a regular occurrence in our street, where most of the resident are quite elderly. I was quite grateful to have something to post for the WPC this week, as I was a bit stumped. How obliging it was of my neighbour to have a little mishap. ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you have any ‘Oops’ photos? If so visit the WPC by clicking the badge below.

weekly-photo-challenge-logo

 

 

82 comments on “WPC ‘Oops’ : Whodunnit?

  1. That is very obliging of your neighbour, LOL ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad she didn’t have any damage to her car, amazing as you say…still waiting for my repairs… ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  2. I am glad car didn’t get wrecked and at least it wasn’t a “hit and run” Some people hit ail boxes and don’t admit it, Sylvia. Wife should be glad it didn’t do more damage! I am like others, finding this quite coincidental! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. The poor mailbox. Can certainly see how the postman will have to stoop down to deliver the mail to your neighbour, but I’m sure it won’t slow him down all too much ๐Ÿ˜€ At least it’s still all in one piece ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Wow, I can’t believe no damage to her care? She’s lucky!! And u did a nice “band aid job;)! I did an opps few years ago.. No photos though.. It was winter and I was backing out if the drive, and backed into my husbands unmarked police car, thinking there was only a dent, because .. There was nothing on my suv. Well poor guy had to have the police garage send a tow truck … Lol I can laugh now , and hubby and His buddy’s all got a big kick out of the woman who can’t back out of a drive way… Oh well . And there u have it;)

  5. How I laughed when I saw this post!!! What a clever idea to repair the mailbox like that! Now that is using ingenuity! And how kind of your neighbors to supply you material for your post!! Too funny!!! โค

  6. Reminds me about (years ago back in Denmark) my mailbox was fatally damaged – I just stood there and didn’t know who had done it – a little boy from the neighborhood came by and told that it was his older brother who had done it – I got hold of him and he was surprised that I knew who had done it – I didn’t ever tell him who had betrayed him… ๐Ÿ˜€

    Very well captured… ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

