Mundane Monday: In My Backyard

Jithin at Photrablogger’s ‘Mundane Monday Challenge‘ is to find “beauty in everyday mundane things, capture the beauty and upload the photographs.” Maybe my everyday mundane things aren’t quite the same as yours, and I suppose when it comes to alligators, beauty is definitely in the eye of the beholder. Yesterday, Mr. A got brave and decided to climb out of the water and do a bit of sunbathing on the neighbour’s grass. He started out with his eyes open, on the alert to see if he’d been noticed by anyone. He seemed to be looking straight at me, probably sizing me up for breakfast. I think he fancies me!

DSCN6254

After a while, he relaxed and snoozed a few hours away in the sunshine, until a sudden heavy downpour of rain woke him up.

DSCN6278

He then slithered back into the water and had a little cruise around before returning to his lair, which I think must be somewhere along the edge of the golf course. I wouldn’t imagine that golfers here go fishing around in the water for lost golf balls.

DSCN3767

Here’s a cute joke to make you smile this Monday morning. “Who gives alligators their Christmas presents? ……………”Santa Jaws!” πŸ™‚

Have a great week everyone.

 

 

121 comments on “Mundane Monday: In My Backyard

  1. Definitely NOT your mundane Monday visitor. Can alligators run as fast as our crocodiles? They can clock 40km over a short distance… Something to ponder… Keep that camera on full zoom Sylvia…

  2. These pics always make me giggle. Do you remember a series of blogs I posted when you first announced you were moving to fl? They weren’t serious at the time, but seems I hit the nail on the head :-).

  3. This was anything but mundane,Sylvia! πŸ™‚
    I like Ty o watch all kinds of creatures but the alligator (and crocodiles) are not my favorite. Your commentary makes it all worthwhile along with great photos.

  4. He definitely fancies you Sylvia! Look at that smile on his face! πŸ˜€

    He is quite gorgeous as well and you took stunning shots of him. I know I won’t go looking for a golf ball there. LOL!

    Loved the joke! Santa Jaws! hahahahah!

  5. I’d love to be able to top that by telling you about the tyrannosaurus in our back yard or something, but I’m afraid like virtually everybody else on this thread, an alligator is definitely not mundane for me. Indeed, I get pretty excited about seeing a butterfly!

  6. Having an alligator sun in your neighbors yard is definitely wild Sylvia! It is anything but mundane! I can’t imagine. Has anyone ever gotten hurt by an alligator? Fun to watch from afar!

  7. Oh wow! Just the thought of an alligator in my backyard gives me the willies. Yikes! I hope you had a long range lens on that camera of yours when you took these photos, Sylvia! I am not too fond of those critters. Um no. But your images are fantastic!!! πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. Having lived in the past in a place where crocodiles were frequent visitors, I just find your leathery friend a little creepy and not to be trusted. I do hope the golfers are careful. Do alligators actually take people like crocs do?

    • I don’t believe that alligators are aggressive like crocodiles. I think they would go for small dogs, but people here don’t let their dogs go outside by the water. Today, Mr. A had just settled himself on the bank for a snooze, when the garden service arrived to cut the hedges. He just slid back into the lake and went for a swim. Having said that, if I saw him outside next to my patio, I wouldn’t open the door to say “hello.” πŸ˜€

  9. Santa Jaws? Is that the best you could do? I don’t think we would ever call the sight of an alligator mundane. Of course we live in the desert so a mundane Monday might be the sight of a tarantula or scorpion or even a coyote. But never an alligator!

  10. I am pretty sure Mr. A fancies you, but not for breakfast. Look at his eyes. He is in love! πŸ˜‰ As I said before, you are fortunate to have such a bodyguard in your backyard! As for mundane… well…. πŸ˜‰

  11. The joke reminds me about a friend now living in Europe but born in Florida and educated lawyer – he have a favorite joke he tell again and again… πŸ˜€

    A man walked into a Florida bar with his alligator and asked the bartender: “Do you serve lawyers here?” – “Sure.” – “Good, one beer for me and a lawyer for my alligator”… πŸ™‚

  12. OMG! I would not be very excited to see that in my backyard. I guess it’s what you are used too. When I lived in upstate NY, the foothills of the Adirondack were in my backyard. Twice I saw and came a little too close to a mountain lion and once a bear! The other little creatures like foxes, wild turkey and deer (…) were just adorable and nothing to be really concerned about.

  13. Now if there is a title that doesn’t fit my friend! Talk about getting used to your environment. πŸ™‚ I’m sure you look very delicious in Mr A’s mind so perhaps grow eyes in the back of your head.

  14. Yikes, Sylvia. Your idea of mundane is definitely a long chalk from mine, where a small toad or a slow worm are the largest reptiles to be confronted by me, and even they can make me jump. Great shots.

  15. Mundane Monday should be called Mad Monday Sylvia!! Lol!!! But I agree with you about the alligators being beautiful, just not about them being mundane! πŸ™‚
    It’s a bit like me posting ‘Nessie!!!’ LOL!! πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

