WPC Circle: Circles from around the world.

When I saw the WPC for this week, I remembered a post on my old blog, which was all about circles, and as some of my newer readers haven’t seen it, I decided to post the same photos, plus this one taken in London. The London Eye, also known as the Millennium Wheel, stands on the south bank of the River Thames. I was amazed at the size of it, and really enjoyed my ride and the wonderful views across the city of London.

DSCN9314

This huge fermenting tank at the Jack Daniels distillery in Lynchburg, Tennessee,  had been emptied for cleaning, and we were able to see right inside it. What a long way down it looked.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This line-up of charred oak barrels that Jack Daniels manufactures in a Kentucky cooperage, contain maturing whiskey. This process perfects that famous rich colour and taste, before it gets put into bottles and sold.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

On our Nile cruise, we witnessed the amazing energy and spectacle of  a ‘Whirling Dervish’. I felt dizzy, just watching him twirling round and round in circles, so fast that he became almost invisible.

IMG_0052

At the Medina in Fez, the sights, sounds and smells were a real feast for the senses.This stall had many circular baskets containing a huge selection of nuts and dried fruit. Unfortunately, no tasting was allowed. *sigh*

DSCF2067

Bignor in the centre of the South Downs National Park in England, is home to the remains of a third century Roman farm and villa. Here you can see a fine example of one of the exquisite mosaic floors.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The Pillars of Hercules is the ancient name given to the promontories that flank the entrance to the Straits of Gibraltar. Here’s me sitting underneath the monument at the top of ‘The Rock’, which is the northern pillar.

DSCF1935

Whilst on holiday in San Salvador in the Bahamas, I had quite a successful first attempt at archery. Just call it ‘beginner’s luck’.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s another activity I’m not too shabby at. A few years ago we were on a family holiday in Punta Cana, and here I was showing my granddaughter how it’s done.

DSC_1008

This sort of activity is highly recommended after eating too much of one of my decadent desserts which contains enough chocolate and cream to even fatten up Popeye’s girlfriend, Olive Oyl. How I miss those Sunday lunches at my sister’s house since we left South Africa.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Wishing you all a wonderful first weekend of the new year.

To see more entries for the ‘Circle’ challenge, click the link below.

weekly-photo-challenge-logo

 

 

 

83 comments on “WPC Circle: Circles from around the world.

  1. Every place you took us in this post, I had never been to, Sylvia. Oh dear, except whiskey distilleries. Lol
    I liked the London eye, the circles of baskets, circle pattern on the rug, the whirling dervish, reference to Popeye and Olive Oil, along with my favorite 2, you by Greek circle of Hercules snd with you doing great with hula hoops! 🙂

      • I put on my glasses and saw your circles in one photo were not on a carpet but on a mosaic tile floor, Sylvia! Lol. Someday, I do believe I will go seek some of my heritage, 1/4 each= Scottish, English (dad’s side)+ German, Swedish (mom’s side). Quite a combination and makes the “whole me!” Your husband has English and your side has. . ? 🙂

  2. Very enjoyable circles, all of them, Sylvia! The Roman mosaic floor is stunning, and so are you doing your after-chocolate-cake exercise 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Mabel. I didn’t buy any of the nuts and fruit anyway, but I may have done if I could have had a little taste. I wouldn’t like to push my luck any further with the archery. I’d rather quit whilst I’m ahead. 😀

  3. Pingback: Pick a Photo Pair | Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  4. We must never belittle beginners luck… 😀

    Good old Jack, It’s on my to do list – visiting “him”… 🙂

    I’m always impressed when seeing girls and women handle those rings so well.

    This lovely lady absolutly is a part of the modern world… 😉

    Delicious ‘circle’ cake, a triangular piece for me please… 😀

    All wonderful captures… 🙂

    • There’s really nothing too it, Jill. You just pay your money, get your ticket and hop in the gondola. It’s all enclosed, so you can’t fall out. 🙂 I loved hula hooping when I was a child, and I guess it’s like riding a bicycle, you never forget how to do it. xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

