B&W Sunday: ‘Moody’ Shaggy-Dog Story

Paula’s first Black and White Sunday challenge this year, is ‘Moody’, and I think this photo I took on Christmas Day in the pub across the road from my MiL’s house,Β  fits the bill. We were enjoying our family Christmas lunch, when I spotted this huge Scottish Deerhound standing with his owner next to the bar. I’d never seen one of these gorgeous, shaggy creatures before, and took a quick photo with my iPhone. I was amazed when I looked at it later, to see that his eyes glowed like burning embers. Very moody and I’m sure you’ll agree, more than a little spooky.

IMG_9204

Happy Sunday to you all.

To join in the B&W photo challenge, click the badge below.

mergeyes_widget

91 comments on “B&W Sunday: ‘Moody’ Shaggy-Dog Story

  1. Beautiful dog! I have a deerhound lurcher, and this picture made me think of her straight away. Not all English pubs allow dogs inside, but lots do. The French are very good at having dogs inside – they are often quietly asleep under the table, or even curled up on the banquette!

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I had to look up what a ‘lurcher’ looked like. πŸ™‚ I love to see dogs with their owners at a pub, but only if they’re well-behaved. (The dogs and their owners.) πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: Christmas Horseplay at The Fox Inn | anotherdayinparadise

  3. Hey S! Love the dog and actually the whole photo www a good choice for a b&w!
    The dog and his eyes β€οΈπŸ’•- but the backdrop too – and I realized something I live specifically about your photos – besides the Audubon ones – my second favorite style of yours are these kind of culture images that speak a thousand words! And here we have so much in the background that had me looking and wondering!

  4. Sylvia, great black and white photo and I like the Pub scene! The dog looks all of the descriptions of spooky and moody, but may I add a little “bedraggled and forlorn?” πŸ˜‰

      • No problem, I tell my brother who has a black newfoundland dog that his dog looks “sad” some dogs like the Hush Puppy dog look forlorn. The dog’s curly hair was what look bedraggled not that he was dirty. Hope the owner was just tired. Life can take its toll on us, which reflects on our appearance, Sylvia. I am going to post a baby photo of my little Hendrix. I cropped my head out of it. Lol. I’m so vain. . . I can hear those lyrics! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: Moody | Lost in Translation

  6. Wow! Sylvia, this is really fascinating. I am always thrilled to see dogs especially if they are fine specimens like this one, but your photo made him look even more spectacular. Thank you so very much. My best wishes to you and your dear hubby for 2016!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

