Our Pelican is back

I went to check on hubby’s progress with the house renovations and he pointed out that the pelican is back in residence for the winter. He was a bit far away for a sharp photo, but I can see that he’s also been doing some house decorating and has once again been very busy ‘whitewashing’ the branches.

DSCN6333

Some of you may remember that last year I had a go at painting him. I wonder if he would like my portrait? I think he looks rather cute.

dscn39481

Happy Thursday to you all. I’ve just heard that our son and family have booked their air tickets and will be visiting us for a few days in February. Something to really look forward to.

 

92 comments on “Our Pelican is back

  1. What an exciting year is waiting for you. Love the pelican painting, I notice you even have his “whitewash” there. Hope you are in the new house for your family visit.

  2. I really like your painting, Sylvia. The fact you added the pelican “whitening” the branches cracks me up. πŸ˜€ It is a fantastic and impressive picture with nice brush strokes. Smiles, Robin

  3. I can just imagine you in the new house with your easel and paint creating beautiful works of art, Sylvia πŸ˜€ It’s so exciting when you know the kids are coming for a visit. My next visit from mine will be about June πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Dianne. I can’t wait for the day when we can settle into the new house. So much still to do, and I don’t feel we have a normal life at the moment, with hubby working over there every day, and me over here keeping this house clean and ΓΌber tidy in case the realtor phones to say she’s bringing people round. I’m looking forward to seeing the family though, and then we’ll take a few days off. It will do us both good. xx

  4. I like your photo and painting, that pelican looks pretty well fed! How lovely to have family coming to visit, always good to have something to look forward…we are going to Melbourne to see the tennis with our daughters and son-in-law…

  5. I wondered if the photo might be a painting at first, what an incredible sight, I’ve never seen a pelican ‘whitewashing’ a tree like that! Love your painting Sylvia, I’ll say it again, you have a wonderful talent there πŸ™‚ And how lovley to have a visit to look forward to with your son and family, I know just how important that is πŸ™‚ xo

  6. love this bird – and I wish your posts came up in my reader – but they do not – either way I will make my way here – and now off to the “lizzie” post again – xoxo

  7. He’s cute! And I think I understand why he’s been busy ‘whitewashing’ the branches: it needs to look at least a little bit like winter for this ‘snow bird’ πŸ™‚ I’m sure he’ll be proud of his portrait if you present it to him!

  8. Can’t really tell the painting from the photo. Glad your son is coming for a visit. I’m sure you will be counting the days (and then be very happy)
    A happy new year to you my dear.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

