Feathers on Friday: Meet Mr. Limpkin

Charlotte at ‘Prairie Birder’ blog as a ‘Feathers on Friday’ challenge. This week, I would like to introduce you to yet another new visitor to my backyard, Mr. Limpkin, who I read has a predilection for snails. In that case, I’m sure he’s very welcome in anyone’s garden. I spotted him snooping around in next door’s jungle.

DSCN6659

Apparently these mostly solitary birds had been hunted almost to extinction in Florida by the beginning of 20th century, but with legal protection have made quite a comeback.

DSCN6669

I’ve seen one over at the new house too, and the neighbors say that it wakes them up early in the morning, as it wails like the ‘Banshee’ of Irish legends. Just check it out below.

Wishing you all a very happy weekend. I’ll be packing boxes and transferring clothes over to the other house. I’ve suddenly come to the realization that the big move is really happening. Wish me luck.

 

76 comments on “Feathers on Friday: Meet Mr. Limpkin

  1. I didn’t know this species, what a handsome bird! I’m glad to hear they are on the comeback from extinction. Hope the weekend move went well. I’ve not mentioned anything on my blog, but I’m in a move process too. I’ll explain one of these weeks when things are more final, but for now I just arrived in Florida on vacay! Seeing so many new birds, and I’m still playing catch-up from two weeks ago. I can’t wait to show off my Florida birds and wildlife in a few days! πŸ™‚

  2. oh sylvia – thanks for the sounds – it made my night to hear this calling! even though at first I did not realize how loud the speakers were turned up – yikes! anyhow, I am going to play it again – nice addition to the post!

    have a great time packing…..

  3. I’m glad to hear you’ll still have some interesting visitors at the new place! I was concerned you’d be lonely and we wouldn’t get our dose of pix on here. Enjoy the move…..hard work but oh so rewarding in the end!

  4. What an impressive voice! Just saw some beautiful egrets in the Sri Lanka natural park. We were hoping to see elephants and eventually we did, but initially it was egrets all the way. Being a bird lover I could watch these guys for hours. Enjoyed the pics and video.

    • Thanks so much for your visit, Peta. The Limpkin isn’t an Egret. It belongs more to the Crane family. We saw a whole lot of elephants in Zimbabwe. It was so awesome. Sounds like you’re having a great time. πŸ™‚

  5. Another handsome fellow! Hope the packing is going well Sylvia and you are enjoying a lovely weekend taking lots of breaks. See you next week πŸ™‚ xx

  6. He certainly is loud. When I played the clip the sound actually startled Cindy who was lying nearby and she came over to the computer to see what it was. She cocked her head looking at the screen which was quite funny.
    Moving is a pain in the neck, all the packing, cleaning, unpacking and more cleaning. I hope yours goes well.

  7. I’m so glad they’re protected now, Sylvia. They’re very similar to a bird we have here – the Curlew who also make very haunting sounds during the evening. The noise they makes scares visitors πŸ˜€

  8. Wishing you great luck in the move. It’s never much fun especially when so sudden and unexpected. Not so sure I’d want that noisy neighbor in the video unless he has the good sense to sleep in ’til noon. πŸ˜‰

Comments can start a conversation. :)

