New Home, New Neighbours

Today I finally had a few moments to take my camera and venture through the construction site which will one day be my living area,

IMG_9496

to see what new neighbours I could find.

At first glance, there didn’t seem to be much going on out back. It just looked like a calm and peaceful scene.

DSCN7253A closer inspection through my lens however, revealedย  many inhabitants of those pine trees. How many Pelicans can you spot?

DSCN7230

One lazy Peli looked to be sleeping rather late today.

DSCN7249

Away to the left, cute Mr. Iggy was on lookout duty in his bright orange waistcoat.

DSCN7232

The dainty Miss Limpkin was busy examining the smorgasbord along the water’s edge. I read that Limpkins are particularly partial to apple snails, as well as insects and tadpoles. I hope she found something to her liking.

DSCN7235

A couple of days ago, hubby spotted an alligator chatting to a tricolored heron across the water.ย  If he’s going to be a regular visitor, I guess he’ll have to have a name. I think I’ll called him Mr. AB (for Ali Baba), as there could never be another Mr. A in my life. He will always hold a special place in my heart, and if my friend was correct when I spoke to her at dinner last night, it sounds like he was caught by the trappers shortly after our move. That makes me very sad to think of him having his freedom taken away, and being driven away in the back of a truck with his mouth duct-taped shut.

DSCN7220

On that sad note, I’ll wish you all a very happy weekend. My blogging should be back to normal next week.

P.S. Can someone please tell me how I switch my blog buddies’ e-mail notifications on again? I had to switch them off during the move, so I didn’t end up with hundreds of e-mails, but can’t for the life of me find the place to re-tick to reverse it. (Sometimes it’s really such a pain being blonde.)

 

133 comments on “New Home, New Neighbours

Comments can start a conversation. :)

