Wildlife in my garden: Scaly and Exotic

This month. Jude wants to see the wildlife in gardens. I seem to have plenty to choose from in my backyard. Yesterday this scaly guy appeared in the grass.

DSCN7428

Maybe he’s the same Iggy who was sporting a bright orange waistcoat a couple of months ago. If it is, he’s toned down his ‘glad rags’ somewhat.

DSCN5923

Hubby was busy up on the scaffold just inside the lanai, and when he started banging nails into wooden beams, Iggy suddenly started jerking his head up and down in time to the hammer blows. I think he quite liked the rhythm.

DSCN7430

He looked right at me but didn’t seem to mind my taking his photo, especially when I told him he was going to be famous on Jude’s March Wildlife Challenge.

DSCN7442

Hope your Tuesday is going really well. I’m about to go and do my duty with the Shop Vac. Every bit of dry wall dust and pile of sawdust I can suck up, is a bit less to walk into the area where we’re living at the moment.

 

112 comments on “Wildlife in my garden: Scaly and Exotic

  1. What an amazing creature he is up close like that! I will admit scaly creatures make my skin crawl a bit, but he does have his own kind of beauty. How perfect for the challenge!

  2. Heavens Sylvia, your Iggy looks HUGE! And stunning too – I love the way he poses for you. Fame at last! And I do hope your (human) neighbours don’t go running these beauties out of town like they did with Mr A and friends. Are they a nuisance at all?

  3. Good to see you folks keeping Jude busy! As if she hasn’t enough to do with all the packing etc. Come to think of it, Ad, you should know better πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Fabulous close ups though! I’m impressed. I have a photo of a bench with an otter carving. Think that’ll count? πŸ™‚

  4. Iggy is just absolutely gorgeous Sylvia! I think he found himself a girlfriend though. I can’t say for sure but I think the little smaller one might be a female, but I stand corrected. It is a fact that the male iguanas turn an orange color during breeding season. In the last stunning shot you took, it also look like the smaller one has an orange tint, so I can’t say for sure.

    Males are also much larger than mature females and they have bumps on the top of their heads, as well as longer spikes going down the length of their back. Females have smaller heads with no bumps. The males also have a larger dewlap under the chin than the female.

    These two are such stunning beauties! I just love seeing them and I am so glad they are safe there with you. πŸ˜€ β™₯

  5. What a handsome fella, orange waistcoat or not!! You will outdo us all with your gorgeous wildlife shots for Jude Sylvia! I will be lucky to come up with a spider…ha! Now if I can just capture my robin… πŸ™‚ Thinking of you…not too much sawdust I hope 😦 Hugs… xo

  6. wow, hes a big guy. after telling my friend from Oldsmar, she told me that some one ove there let a pet lose, and it mated??? now there are offspring’s..wandering around, she didn’t believe it, till one was by her back pond. these are fantastic shots

  7. Beautiful images, Sylvia πŸ™‚

    Seems they are really interested in being published πŸ™‚

    We have a similar guy, monitor lizard, which is smaller in size, in our backyard …

    Thanks a lot for sharing and have a beautiful day ahead πŸ™‚

  8. He doesn’t look real…..
    ….. it sounds as if some creative sculptor had arranged a statue, adding piece to piece randomly ,until obtaining an imaginary creature…Mysterious and fascinating for me!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

