Wildlife Obstacle Course for Jude’s Garden Challenge.

Hubby knows all about Jude’s ‘Wildlife in the Garden’ challenge this month, and yesterday whilst he was putting up ceiling boards in the living area, called me to come quick because there were two ‘Pigeons’ outside. Now, I wouldn’t normally get excited about seeing a couple of pigeons, but to humour him, I grabbed my camera and was just in time to see them turn their backs on me. They were actually Doves, and were obviously not keen to have their photo splashed all over WordPress.

DSCN7471

Looking around for more interesting wildlife, I spotted a Snowy Egret by the water’s edge.

DSCN7473

As I traipsed through the undergrowth, I almost tripped over Ms. Igua who was contemplating going for a swim.

DSCN7487

I think she was looking to escape from her admirer Mr. Iggy, who’d been ogling her from a nearby bush and was now hot-footing it over.

DSCN7493

By the time he got there, she had plopped into the water and he was left with only Snowy Egret to chat up. What a blow!

DSCN7497

Excitement over, I walked back to the house and was just in time to see a flying lizard. I didn’t crop out the tear in the insect screen, because I didn’t want to foolΒ  you into thinking that we really do have flying lizards here. That definitely would be wildlife overload, wouldn’t it?

DSCN7511

Happy Monday to you all from a very warm and sunny, blue-skied Florida.

 

 

 

 

92 comments on “Wildlife Obstacle Course for Jude’s Garden Challenge.

  1. Oops, Sylvia. Most of my comment made sense but I think I mixed the bird’s type up. Just was typical me, rushing like a chicken with my head cut off. πŸ˜€ Have a terrific Tuesday! xo

  2. Sylvia this post just kept amazing me more and more as I read on. Flying lizards????? What an amazing place you live in! Lizards, Egrets , mourning doves! Thank you for sharing and always making me smile πŸ™‚

  3. I may call your pigeons, mourning doves, but I may be wrong, too. (smiles!)
    Sylvia, the beautiful white feathers glow on the Snowy Egret! I absolutely can imagine these creatures co-existing and even having a playful conversation, the scenery is always pretty around where you choose to life. I bet when the renovations are complete, you won’t want to “sweep” for a month.
    Sending hugs for your patience and compliments to your husband for his work well done, too.

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment, Robin. Yes, the scenery here is gorgeous and we do love to have a water view where we live, just like we had the ocean in South Africa. I don’t mind sweeping up. It’s all in a good cause. πŸ™‚

  4. I adore your flying lizard, but Snowy Egret is a stunner. Who needs flowers when surrounded by nature of this kind! Please give hubby my thanks for sending you out to capture these beauties πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Jude. We do have a few flowering plants in the front garden, but the backyard is still waiting for a revamp. It’s the ideal place for wildlife to frolic. I’ll tell hubby. He thought I was crazy with the ‘flying lizard’. πŸ™‚

  5. Sylvia most of all I think it’s fabulous that your Hubby was enthused about the blogging project to call you out! Flying lizards may be evolving there to stay out of the way of Mr A. πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

