WPC: One Love……Love Music

“If music be the food of love, play on; give me excess of it…..” ~ Shakespeare’s ‘Twelfth Night.’

For this Week’s Photo Challenge, Anne McCarthy has chosen the theme ‘One Love’. Can you imagine a world without music? I certainly can’t, and as long as I can remember, music has played an important part in my life. The love of music is something that has followed me since I was a child in the 1950’s when my small fingers first touched the piano keys at a boarding house in Blackpool where our family was staying for a week’s holiday by the sea. I was probably five-years-old, and standing up couldΒ  just reach the piano keys. I managed to pick out ‘God Save the Queen’, with one finger, and my dear mom, thinking that I absolutely must be a child prodigy, decided to send me for piano lessons when we returned home. Well, I wasn’t a child prodigy, but learning piano did nurture my love of music.

Music with the power to heal and uplift the human spirit, has often been called the universal language, and is always so welcome when it just seems to pop up on my travels. I can’t resist taking photos of musicians who have added to my pleasurable sightseeing experiences, and Italy yielded a few such photos, like this street musician playing the well known love song ‘Besame Mucho’Β  whilst an elderly couple had an impromptu dance on the sidewalk. Such a special memory.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

At a rooftop restaurant also in Rome, we were serenaded with the same song.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

In the Piazza San Marco in Venice, the music group at the Grand Cafe, had many diners feeling the love and up on their feet dancing.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Even at a small lunchtime venue in a back street of Venice, a merry band of musicians appeared to make our meal more special.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

So there you have it; My ‘One Love’ is a combination of my love of music, my love of travel, my love of Italy and all this of course in the company of my darling hubby the love of my life.

 

 

71 comments on “WPC: One Love……Love Music

  1. non potrebbe esistere un mondo senza la musica…in ogni modo ci penserebbe il vento fra gli alberi a procurarcene una dolcissia
    ti ringrazio per l’omaggio alla musica fatto attraverso l’Italia sua patria naturale
    πŸ™‚

  2. Lovely! And I agree music is so much of part of life and love. We are going to Italy soon so I was pleased to see such romantic photos of Italy….I loved the way Parisians danced spontaneously too…

  3. Awwww what a sweet post. My parents thought the same thing about me when I played Three Blind Mice on the piano at age 3. hmmmm By the time Mom started giving me piano lessons, she changed her mind. I still don’t play better than an average third grader who just started.

  4. Such a sweet photo of the couple. The song must have brought back memories for them 😍 Like you, I can’t imagine a world without music. It calms me down just as much as it energises me πŸ™‚

  5. I think I love music too. Listening to the songs you like are just a new world to me. They can calm me down drastically (I am listening to one now :)).

    I also like street performing music too. One of your pictures above just reminds me of last time I saw one. Just love it.

  6. Love this wonderful post, Sylvia! That first photo is especially priceless.
    Music + Italy + Your True Love = Perfection!

  7. oh I couldn’t agree more, Sylvia. i love music that is why i’m in the church choir for many, many years now. beautiful pictures to wonderful memories on your travels. πŸ™‚

  8. Oh what fab memories , and awesome captures. Yep ,I grew up with the radio always on ,in the kitchen, and I also from the time I was 5 , would go to my g’fathers restaurant, and know exactly what letters to push on the the juke box πŸ˜‰ music is a really important part of my life as well;) , to this day, it can cheer me up on a grey day πŸ˜‰

Comments can start a conversation. :)

