Wildlife in the Garden: A bit of green for St. Patrick’s Day

I never know what will be ‘on stage’ when I pull up my bathroom blind. It may be a cute Sammy squirrel, a not so cute Ali Baba ‘gator, or a green scaly monster of the ‘Ig’ family. Can you see what I’m referring to?

DSCN7620

I don’t think this was Iggy, as I’m pretty sure it’s female, and it’s much bigger than Igua, so let’s call this one Ignatia.

DSCN7618

For a female, she’s no Cinderella, as she really does have ‘Ugly Sister’ feet, with five very long toes with sharp claws on the ends. How would you fancy this creeping in through your bathroom window?

DSCN7621

I went outside to get a better look. Yes, definitely a visitor on a large ‘scale’. (Pardon the pun.) The Green Iguana is one of the largest lizards in the Americas, averaging about 6.5 feet, including that very long tail.

DSCN7629

I’m really thankful that hubby opted for a non-opening window for my bathroom.This is definitely not the ideal bathing buddy.

DSCN7632

Hope you enjoyed my bit of green for St. Paddy’s Day. Have a great one.

I’m linking this to my friend Jude’s ‘March – Wildlife in the Garden Challenge’. Pop over there and see her wonderful Peacock photos.

Nancy Merrill Photography also has a challenge to “Get Your Green On” for St Patrick’s Day. If you have photos featuring greens, why not also join in?

 

 

 

104 comments on “Wildlife in the Garden: A bit of green for St. Patrick’s Day

  1. What a gorgeous beauty Sylvia and you’ve captured her so well in her gorgeous green colours! I must say, I wouldn’t mind a visitor like that, even when I’m in the bath. She might just enjoy the bubble bath as well. LOL!

  2. Pingback: Hey there, you with your nose in the air! | anotherdayinparadise

  3. Great photos! They certainly aren’t Cinderella in their appearance, more the look of a wicked witch. One nice thing is that they are probably munching on lots of bugs that you’d rather not have around the house. πŸ˜€

  4. I’m glad you posted several shots because I wasn’t certain I was seeing it or not in the first one. He’s great, what a tail and all that texture and colour range!

  5. Your photos just got better and better as I scrolled down the post. That is one BIG iguana Sylvia and you captured him/her beautifully for St Paddy’s Day πŸ™‚

    • I agree with you. In Florida, all the windows which open have screens, and there’s a big screened area out back, so we can sit in our ‘cage’ and watch the wildlife without getting bitten by mosquitoes in the summer. πŸ™‚

      • All our windows and doors are screened to keep the flies and mozzies out as well as other creepy crawlies. Every now and then we get a scorpion or centipede inside and I always wonder how they get in. It’s bad luck for them because they get squashed pretty quickly.

    • At our last house, the windows, screens and door frames were quite old, and I think didn’t seal well, but we’ve had every window, sliding glass door and the front door replaced in this house, so I’m hoping not even a tiny lizzie will be able to get in. πŸ™‚

  6. The thought of that lizard in my tub, falling on me, you will hear me scream all the way where you live! *shivers* Not a big fan here on lizards and such but I must admit still the beauty is amazing. Very cool shots, Sylvia. πŸ™‚ ❀

  7. I see the Shady Palms in your yard. πŸ™‚ An edit to another comment: You would not only get bitten on the bottom but bitten on the brain too. Coming at you from all directions. 😦

  8. Ah…. perfect green, Sylvia! Happy St.Patricks Day and here’s an Irish blessing for you:
    May your blessings outnumber
    The shamrocks that grow,
    And may trouble avoid you
    Wherever you go.
    πŸ™‚ xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

