Surprise in the Garden for Jude’s Challenge

Yesterday I went scouting in the garden hoping to get a few successful macros for Jude’s ‘Garden Photography…..Get a little closer challenge’.

A couple of Hibiscus flowers had come out overnight. This brilliant red outside my bathroom window is my favourite.

DSCN7724

The golden one belongs to my neighbour, but they’re away overseas so I snuck a photoΒ  without treading on their garden….well almost.

DSCN7729

The Bougainvillea is in full bloom now.

DSCN7731

Rounding the corner next to our garage, I got such a pleasant surprise to see that the bare stick of an orchid which hubby brought over from the other house and had tied to a palm tree a few months ago, was once again flaunting healthy, fat buds; seven of them. I’ll definitely keep an eye out for the flowers as they develop. I’m sure they will be exquisite, that’s if the iguanas don’t eat them. I read that they’re very partial to orchids. Fingers crossed.

DSCN7845

I’m off to sweep some sawdust now, whilst hubby’s out buying yet more timber.

Happy Wednesday to you all.

 

 

71 comments on “Surprise in the Garden for Jude’s Challenge

  1. If ever I were to live in the deep south, I’d be sure to surround myself with the blooms you’ve chosen. I once had a number of orchids and dreamt of “setting them free”, binding them to trees in my yard. You know, the trees over there with the Spanish Moss dangling. (This is about when a spider would appear and I put away the dream for another time.)

  2. Hibiscus shout out travels and holidays to me Sylvia … and there you have them just right outside your day to enjoy ! A profuson of flowers like that is a wonderful uplifting sight πŸ™‚

  3. spero che non ti sia rimasta piΓΉ segatura da spazzare, e che avrai ancora tempo di fare ancora queste magnifiche macro! io le adoro, la fioritura mi fa notare la gran differenza di clima la mia boungavillea sta appena iniziando a impostare le foglie ed anche gli ibiscus dormono alla grande!
    πŸ™‚

  4. I really liked the hibiscus, yours and the neighbor’s, πŸ˜‰ Sylvia. The orchid is amazing and more resilient than I expected! Wonderful that it transplanted and revived! πŸ™‚

  5. Stunning! I do love a hibiscus flower πŸ™‚ And I hope that Iggy and his mates leave your orchid alone as I want to see the flowers – perhaps you could persuade them to visit the neighbours?

  6. Love the Hibiscus. There were plenty in our African gardens. Not here (Mexico city) but we do have lots of Bougainvilleas in the garden. Thanks for the photos.
    Take care.
    Brian

  7. Stunning Sylvia and such great captures. I love the colours. So glad your orchids are blooming and I am sure the Iguanas will respect your wishes. πŸ˜€ β™₯

  8. I’m a big fan of the red hibiscus, I have one too. I like taking photos of glorious bougie, but having worked in someone’s garden pruning some overgrown bushes/trees, I’ve lost any desire to grow it any more. I do love the papery appearance though.

    PS showed your house pic to my partner who was fascinated with the progress. Do keep us up to speed inside as well as outside.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

