Garden Close-Ups: Sammy Squirrel Does The Leopard Crawl

This month, Jude is asking us to ‘get a little closer’ for her ‘Garden Photography Challenge’.

Did you ever see a squirrel doing the ‘Leopard Crawl’? Sammy seems to have perfected the art.

DSCN3425

The only time I tried this was when we were living in Johannesburg. After a particularly strenuous aerobics class at the gym, I was so zonked that I couldn’t remember the code to switch off the burglar alarm when I arrived home, so I tried leopard crawling down the passage to avoid the security beams. If I could just manage to get to the main bedroom, I would be able to quickly switch it off at the box inside the closet. I almost made it, but not quite, and suddenly there was a loud wailing of sirens. The security company sent out a car to investigate and I was so flustered standing at the door still wearing my lycra gym outfit, that I still couldn’t remember the code. I was really mortified that I had to phone hubbyΒ  at work to vouch for me. What’s your most embarrassing moment?

Hope you’re all having a splendid Thursday.

 

83 comments on “Garden Close-Ups: Sammy Squirrel Does The Leopard Crawl

  1. Oh dear this reminded me of when I was doing house cleaning back in the 1980’s, back then it was a working hol in Australia, I lived in NZ. Unknown to me I set off the alarm, but it didn’t sound in the house, next thing 2 big, intimidating cops were at the front door with hands poised over their guns asking who I was!!!

  2. Great post & love Sammy’s leopard crawling, LMAO! I can see me doing what you did and would be glad no one was watching that part! Too many embarrassing moments in my life lol, but I know when I’ve tripped up or fallen in public & tried quickly to recompose myself, I’m hoping & praying no one saw me! πŸ˜…

    • Thanks so much, Donna. Oh yes, I’ve also tripped up and fallen in public. On a cruise ship, I suddenly fainted as we were going down the stairs to lunch, The poor guy behind us got more of a shock than I did. πŸ™‚ Luckily I wasn’t hurt except for a couple of bruises. πŸ˜•

  3. Seeing this picture I’ve suddenly got the theme music of Mission Impossible running through my head Sylvia . Your embarrasing moment resulted in Mission Possible !
    Far too many cringy moments to declare here πŸ˜‰

  4. ho deciso, non vado piΓΉ al cinema a vedere film comici, passo qui da te per rodere! ma che grande avventura! noi stiamo ridendo, ma sinceramente non so quanto lo avrai fatto tu! la foto poi Γ¨ favolosa, sembra quasi la mia gatta delle foreste norvegesi Amelie ( vedi che anche io ho un piccolo zoo molto domestico con nomi? )visto da dietro!
    Certo giovedΓ¬ Γ¨ passato, buon venerdΓ¬, cara πŸ™‚

    • Glad I can provide you with some free entertainment, Annalisa. What a pretty name your cat has. I really love it. My daughter’s cat is Ravioli. πŸ™‚ Happy Friday and weekend to you. I have your latest post waiting to be read. The photos are stunning. Hugs my friend. xx

  5. You are hilarious, Sylvia! Like a NINJA or a combat-crawling war heroine. I think you learned if you were going to end up calling hubby anyway: just do it first! Lol Going in a bathing suit or getting out of the shower is much worse than exercise wear, silly! πŸ™‚
    My most embarrassing moment was coming home from the local reservoir beach with dirty, sandy kids to find out the water was turned off! I was a single Mom and was a day late with the bill. Taking two children and squalling baby into the water department was so, so humiliating! 😦 We were so glad to get home and get washed up!

    • Hahaha I love the “combat-crawling war heroine” image, Robin. I cringed for you with your most embarrassing moment story. It’s strange how these mortifying incidents seem to stick in our memory. πŸ˜•

  6. Oh, that must have been an experience! I check and recheck the alarm, always afraid as I open the door I’ll set off the alarm. We had a squirrel that sprawled flat on the cool concrete in the heat of summer, but I’ve never seen one crawl like that.

  7. Sylvia I was laughing out loud at your ninja impression crawling under the security beams. Our alarm goes off the minute you open the door. I now have a password keeper app because it seems I too forget the simplest thing like my bank code while in a foreign country. Good grief!

      • Yes Sylvia you need one master password but it has decreased my angst tremendously. I think I have 60 assorted numbers and codes in there. Keeps my brain from exploding. πŸ™‚

  8. I can imagine how that could happen. The mind simply doesn’t want to act. Thank you for sharing the marvelous memory. So when I go to the ATM and can’t remember my PIN, I won’t feel so alone.

  9. This photo made my day!
    Fell in love with Sammy…
    I’ve had so many embarrassing moments that it’s impossible to count them….
    Must say that yours was quite funny!

  10. hahahaha! This is totally adorable Sylvia! What a cutie and what a great shot! πŸ˜€

    I don’t think they worried as I am sure they got a lot of that in their type of work. What I would have loved to see is you doing the leopard crawl Sylvia. LOL! I don’t have embarrassing moments. I just mess up regularly and it’s not funny. πŸ˜†

  11. Hmm, I’ve had quite a few embarrassing moments that I think I’ll keep to myself for now Sylvia. I can imagine that leopard crawl you did, I expect on reflection you were glad you didn’t make it. The system worked! πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

