Six Word Saturday: Iguanas haven’t discovered my orchid yet.

Went out to inspect my orchid this morning, and am pleased to report that itΒ hasn’t been munched, and is really making splendid progress.

DSCN7931

Thankfully Mr. Iggy and family mostly stay in the backyard.

DSCN7863

The defunct rock water feature seems to be a favourite sunbathing spot amongst the reptiles living here.

DSCN7672

They also love this tree stump.

DSCN7679

Hubby told me found this one inside the house a couple of days ago and chased it out the door.

DSCN7873

My almost dead orchid which had been forgotten about and left to fend for itself in the garage after we moved, has been rescued and tied to the palm tree outside my bathroom window. Hope it’s happy there. If it get flower buds, I’ll be sure to show you, as long as you promise not to tell Iggy.

DSCN7921

Hope you’re all having a splendid weekend. It’s a sparkling Florida spring day here.

I’m also linking this to Jude’s April Garden Photography Challenge ‘Get a Little Closer’.

 

6ws-participating-in-banner

 

96 comments on “Six Word Saturday: Iguanas haven’t discovered my orchid yet.

  1. I can’t say if I like lizards or not … haven’t met that many – but I can image they can do some damage. I hope your orchid is still intact and gives you enjoy!

  2. It wouldn’t surprise me if that “forgotten” orchid bloomed again. They are amazingly resilient and yours is the perfect climate. Unfortunately, it’s also perfect for Iggy and his orchid-eating kin. πŸ™‚

  3. Have you tried reasoning with him? Like “You know Mr.Iggy, they’re bad for your health – even poisonous [okay, a little lie but for a good cause!], I’m only saying this for your own good!” πŸ˜‰

  4. Your green friend is quite stylish! But I agree with you that he’d better stay on the tree stump outside. I hope your orchid will love this gorgeous weather and give you beautiful blooms soon!

    • Yes, he’s quite the natty dresser, but still not smart enough to be allowed inside the house. πŸ™‚ My pink orchid is still doing well and it’s too early to tell whether the neglected one has forgiven me yet. :). πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, Sylvia your close-ups are lovely! Love the beautiful orchid buds, can’t wait to see them open, and the lovely portrait of Mr Iggy followed by that claw! You have such wonderful beauty around you.

  6. So vivid these photos are Sylvia. I love the one showing the fingers of the iguana. amazing detail. Looks like he could scurry quickly in the back door. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m beginning to have my doubts about Florida and the ‘good life’, Ad. You have to share it with all manner of intruders, and you can’t even hang your washing out! 😦

  8. Promise not to tell…I love orchids, as you know, but I do like Iggy & Co too.
    Great shots of all of them! And, orchids do have stamina…you do not kill them easily. Too much water might do it though.

  9. Superb combination. Beautiful flowers and fascinating creatures. I love lizard types, although all I’ve scored are geckos and a chameleon. Great photos, and like Sonel, I love their little feeties.

  10. What a gorgeous orchid and such beautiful blooms Sylvia! I am also glad Iggy and family didn’t get to it. Maybe it’s the kind they don’t like. πŸ˜†

    They are absolutely gorgeous!!!! I just love seeing them. They are such amazing beauties and you are so blessed to have them there. Thanks for sharing and wishing you and all the beasties a lovely weekend. πŸ˜€ β™₯

      • LOL! Yes, I know what you mean. As much as I would love the Vervets to stay with me, they are much better off outside where they can’t break anything.

        I also love those Iggy faces and those feet are just adorable! πŸ˜€

Comments can start a conversation. :)

