Ten Word Wednesday : Laundry Day Blues

Hammock lies dormant

Unfulfilled dreams stagnate

No hope of escape

DSCN5737

Thought I’d try something different today. Photo taken in Costa Rica.

Happy Wednesday to you all.

 

 

 

52 comments on “Ten Word Wednesday : Laundry Day Blues

  1. Wonderful, I have a fetish for laundry racks … but don’t see them very often over here. I suppose most people use the tumble dryer. Or maybe it’s because of the bad weather we had the last summers.

      • I hadn’t even noticed. I saw the colors, the line, and the next thing I knew, I was taking a stroll down Memory Lane watching Mom hang our laundry. πŸ™‚

      • It does us good to stroll down that lane, John. I just saw 2011 photos on FB of my late mom smiling in the front of a Land Rover, as she anticipated our family tour around the Rhino and Lion Park in Johannesburg. Great memories of her. πŸ™‚

  2. When I walk to the creek (which is just about every day) I think of when my hubby’s great grandparents settled here and all the washing was done in the creek. I’m so glad we’ve come a long way since then, but some people aren’t so lucky.

  3. Sylvia, the old and mossy rocks contrasted beautifully with the colorful laundry on the clothesline! I enjoyed your haiku or short words about it. Sadto think of life stagnating but if I were to be “stuck” an island like Costa Rico wouldn’t be too bad a place. . . πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful rest of the week, Sylvia! ❀

    • Thanks, Robin. The ‘mossy rocks’ are parts of a broken manhole. I felt sorry for the dog. He looked very lean and hungry. Costa RIca is a great place for a holiday, but I saw that daily life there is very hard for its people.

      • The poor areas of Mexico were like this, only a few blocks from big cities like Mexico City and this does break your heart a bit. Hopefully, their simple existence is blessed with family and time together. Costa Rico would be more impoverished, I would imagine than many other places we would choose to travel and vacation in. You have a kind and loving heart, Sylvia. I appreciate your saying this to me. xo

  4. When we are travelling I often notice washing hanging on make-shift lines……somehow shows what a struggle life is for some people…..it does make me grateful for all that we have!

  5. Very creative Sylvia. Laundry day blues. When I don’t like doing laundry I think of the many countries in the world where I would be walking down to the river to accomplish the task. That usually lightens my blues.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

