WPC: Last Night’s Dinnertime

Yesterday evening found us at our local TGI Friday’s, as hubby had received a voucher for a free entrΓ©e in his inbox. As we are still ‘kitchenless’, we’re always on the lookout for a good deal on dinner out.

Just as we arrived, the heavens opened and down came the rain in torrents. I just made it from the car into the restaurant, with only slightly wet hair, but those who came in after us needed lots of napkins to dry themselves off. The service and the vibe was really good, and we were soon settled in a booth, me with a Blue Moon and hubby with a Sam Adams. A few minutes later we had to move into the next one, as there was a bit of a leak over part of our table and a bucket was required.

Hubby’s choice of Jack Daniel’s Flat Iron steak and ribs with tomato and mozzarella salad looked so delicious, and he was generous enough to give me a taste of the ribs.

IMG_9791

I had the grilled Norwegian salmon topped with Langostino lobster, which was made really healthy with a side of broccoli. πŸ™‚

IMG_9793

It’s always hard to resist the dessert menu, and as hubby had been busy up on the scaffold all day, and I’d been to gym, we decided to share a decadent ‘Tennessee Whiskey Cake’ which is warm toffee cake topped with glazed pecans, a scoop of vanilla ice cream and served with butterscotch Jack Daniel’s Whiskey sauce. So yummy!

IMG_9795

When we left, we were amazed to see that the car park looked like a lake. Luckily our car was in a non-flooded space, but hubby had to do a bit of a detour to get to it without having to paddle through the ankle-deep water. Being the gentleman that he is, he picked me up right outside the door so my tootsies didn’t get wet.

Tonight we will buy sushi to eat at home and no dessert. Have a great weekend everyone.

Click here to see more interpretations of the Weekly Photo Challenge.

 

120 comments on “WPC: Last Night’s Dinnertime

  1. We have a TGIFridays in Columbus and Cleveland. Our family enjoys many of their entrees and my friend who treats me to birthday dessert (and I treat her for dessert) always agrees to my suggesting my November dessert be either the whiskey cake or the apple streusel with caramel over ice cream and it is grilled or put in the oven on that cast iron skillet with a hot pad to prevent accidental burning hand while you hold on tight so no one takes it, Sylvia!! πŸ˜€
    My friend, Jenny and I have done this for over 25 years and we don’t stick to the same restaurants because there are so many good desserts and usually too full to try them. Last year, I did choose The Cheesecake Factory and had Dulce de Leche cheesecake. . . mmm, mmm!

  2. Oh why am I looking at these photos at lunchtime? Looks absolutely divine…one of the perks of not having a kitchen (although I can well imagine that most of the time it’s not easy to say the least…). What a gentleman your hubby is…mine would do just the same, save his damsel in distress πŸ™‚ I hope the kitchen is coming along Sylvia, if I’ve missed any house updates, let me know, you know I have to keep tabs on your progress! Have a lovely day my friend πŸ™‚ xx

    • Yes they did, Tandy. The voucher was for one free entrΓ©e, we turned out to be worth about $20, as we chose two of the most expensive ones. πŸ™‚ The kitchen area is at the far end of the house, and can’t be started until the living area is all sorted out. I’m getting quite used to not having one. πŸ™‚

  3. I loved the pics and kept trying to find a way to dip my spoon into that dessert (did not work) but my fav part of the post was feeling the rain come down and then seeing the lake in the parking lot – I remember those Florida downpours so well…. xoxo

      • ha! well whenever I look back and think of getting a photo that I know would have been great – I just remind myself that it is hard to be in camera mode so much. Like I do enough as it is. Like we were driving yesterday and this guy was pulling his bike – it had a carriage that two people could sit in and it was his work. It looked like fiddler on the roof guy pulling his donkey. And the guy pulling it yesterday looked like a ringmaster from a circus and the effort in his pulling this large work bike and carriage was moving. I assume he was getting ready to ride it again – but later I realized I should have gotten a shot -0 or offered to help maybe? I dunno.
        oh and blue moons – ha! I remember when those were hard to find brews and now they are all around – I love the craft beer options – even though I barely drink beer these days. but the blue moon cloud was such a fun play with the rain and puddles – ha!

  4. Sylvia …. great entry. I and my friend have spare ribs at home last night. I totally agree about the dessert menu … I’m a pudding girl.
    I look like you had a very tasteful and enjoyable evening .. and I’m glad your car wasn’t in the “lake”.
    I wish you both a great week.

  5. Awesome! All this looks so delicious I think I’ll need to go and raid the fridge at this hour. Hubby is sleeping and Dylan won’t tell πŸ™‚

  6. All sounded soooo yummie !!! We go to our Applebee’s. Every now and then, I think I know what I’m getting next time we go there πŸ˜‰ have a nice Sunday Sylvia

  7. What a yummy dinner, Sylvia! I would have chosen the salmon and lobster as well πŸ˜‰ I don’t mind steak but as I get older I find it a bit heavy for dinner (but I certainly would have had a taste!) πŸ˜€

  8. Pingback: Dinnertime (Paris 2000) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Enjoy your sushi Sylvia, that should make up for last night’s brownie obsession but as you’re both so active, the indulgence is entirely justified I’d say! πŸ™‚

  10. Sounds as if a downpour couldn’t dampen your fun and tasty evening together.
    Being kitchenless has to be rough, but looks like you’re making the best of it!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

