Cee’s Odd Ball Challenge: Blue Herons Can Jump

 

‘Cee’s Odd Ball Challenge’ is about those photos we take which really don’t seem to fit into a common category, but we just can’t hit delete because they have about them a certain odd ball quality which we rather like.

Great Blue Herons are really wonderful to watch. They have such poise and are so graceful in flight. I had to laugh at this one who decided to investigate the neighbour’s patio across the water. He hopped up onto the barbecue, and then just launched himself across to the table.

DSCN3363

He then stepped onto the back of the chair and jumped back again. Very ‘odd ball’ behaviour indeed. I think that the bright sunlight and the reflections in the window give this last photo especially, a kind of bizarrely ethereal odd ball quality?

DSCN3358

Hope your week is going well. I’m off to the dentist this morning to get a naughty tooth fixed.

022714-odd-ball.jpg

 

100 comments on “Cee’s Odd Ball Challenge: Blue Herons Can Jump

  1. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap Up – April 30, 2016 and Hugh’s Weekly Challenge: Week 23 | Cee's Photography

  2. Maybe you can start a heron acrobats show. I’d totally buy that ticket only if you follow along the heron’s every move. 🙂 I kid, I kid.
    The other acrobatic moves here is the picture-taker. Such finesse. 😀

  3. Pingback: Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: 2016 Week 17 | Cee's Photography

  4. This made me stop and wonder if GBH’s get “claustrophobic?” The repetitive behavior was amusing and gorgeous captures by you, Sylvia. I am one who worries and also likes to solve puzzles. I really would have wished to have a video camcorder.
    This was an amazing and unique pair of photos, Sylvia! 🙂

  5. I agree, Sylvia, that is very odd behavior for a Great Blue Heron. They normally do not come in that close. And your second picture is awesome!! What an incredibly creative capture. Great job!! ❤

  6. What a great set of shots! The first one is funny because of the contorted shape you caught. The second looks like a painting. Very cool!

    I spent two hours in the park yesterday in beautifully warm weather and “my” heron was back, high in the dead tree where he and other fishing birds love to hang out. I was on the other side of the river, but I had my Nikon and telephoto, so I should have gotten some good shots. It was fun to be able to watch through the lens, too, since I never think to take binoculars.

  7. Le héron au long bec, emmanché d’un long cou.
    The heron with a long beak on top of a long neck.
    (La fontaine) Doesn’t quite come up well in english.
    Nice shots.

  8. Gosh, those are odd ball and excellent. It’s like they just love to do antics and pose for your! Must be that naughty tooth gleaming when you smile. A little sparkle glints, and the birds start to act up. Hope your tooth feels better fast, Sylvia! 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

