Wordless Wednesday: The Car Park Hustling Duck

Coming out of CVS Pharmacy yesterday, I was accosted by this stranger, who insisted on following me to my car.

IMG_9809

He was wordless as he wagged his tail feathers at me and positioned himself so that I couldn’t get into the car without stepping over him. I was worried that if I opened the door, he might just hop in, or worse still give me a peck. I shooed him but to no avail. I gave him a gentle nudge with my foot, and he stubbornly stood his ground. I even considered scooting round to the passenger door and climbing across the centre console. You would have laughed to see me trying to lead him away from the car and then quickly walking back, hoping to escape from my overly persistent would-be friend. Luckily after a few minutes, another woman/victim appeared. She was eating a bag of potato chips and suddenly I was off the hook. As I drove away, I could see my feathered friend had transferred his affections and was wagging his tail feathers furiously at her. I couldn’t help but smile.

Hope you all have a lovely Wednesday.  P.S. I thought at first this was Turkey Vulture, but now I’m thinking it was actually a Muscovy Duck. Never seen one up close before.

Wordless-Wednesday-Button-1501

 

 

 

84 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: The Car Park Hustling Duck

  1. First I thought “my” Muscovy Duck had come to visit you (he has disappeared again), but these ducks have so many individual variations, I have never seen two that look exactly the same.

    • Hope your Muscovy returns. I may have to go back to CVS today, so if I see him again, I’ll tell him you’re missing him. 🙂 I’ll take a couple of crackers with me and throw them well away from my car. 😀

  2. A hustling Muscovy Duck it is! 🙂 I am laughing at the thought of you being hustled, you’re right, he might have jumped into your car, then what?!! LOL He could have gone home with you and lived amongst all your other critters! That would have worked, I’m sure! 🙂

  3. Oh my…good job that other woman showed up just in time with the crisps! Funny story Sylvia, it must have known how much you enjoy photographing birdlife so maybe wanted its 5 minutes of fame on your blog! 🙂 xx PS I think it could be a Muscovy…

  4. You are simply irresistible, Sylvia! But not as attractive as a bag of potato chips hahaha.
    I have never seen a duck like this either. Thanks for this lovely story, and for the smile.

  5. Your story about the Muscovy Duck was hysterical, Sylvia! Imagine we big humans towering over ducks or many animals but they seem rather aggressive and scary. Many say this about mother animals who will charge at “intruders.”
    I got scared of a Mama skunk once that came bustling out of brambles on a friend’s farm. I stood perfectly still and “baby talked” to her. She finally turned around and walked away. I was worried I would get sprayed!

    • Thanks, Lisa. It was very odd indeed. I haven’t seen him there before. I’m tempted to take some crackers next time I go. Of course, I would scatter them well away from my driver’s door. 😀

  6. omg how funny you are, that had to be a sight to watch for sure. what an interesting pattern on the head? have a great week Sylvia,as you go forward finding new friends:)))or they finding you….

    • Hahaha It had me quite flustered. I’m amazed I got a decent shot. 🙂 I think it’s a Muscovy Duck. Not sure what the thing on its head is called. Maybe a crop. Oh, hubby just looked it up for me. It’s called a ‘caruncle’. 🙂

      • It would have flustered me as well…I remember years ago I lived in a neighborhood where people fed the squirrels by hand and I was new to the neighborhood and wasn’t aware of this…one day a HUGE black squirrel came running towards me with it’s tail twitching, I have to say it flustered me and I immediately got up and went in the house…with the fellow following me!!! At first I wondered if there was something wrong with it…but then I realized people were hand feeding these fellows so they didn’t have any fear about running up to a person. 🙂 Thank you to your hubby for checking to see what that V was, that was appreciated!

  7. His head really Looks a bit like that of a vulture. but then, he knew you would not have carrion with you but bread. And there were no doves coming, too? He is a really strange mixture of duck…

Comments can start a conversation. :)

