Nature from my bathroom window!

A very timely visit for my 6th day of the ‘7 Days of Nature Challenge’. Looking out of my bathroom window yesterday afternoon, I thought I saw a smallish ‘dinosaur’ creeping towards the house. Maybe this is Iggy Jr’s dad or even his granddad. They’re not quite so cute when they get to be 6 feet long, are they? I took this shot through the glass then went outside to have a closer look.

DSCN8164

As soon as he spotted me, he started off towards the water at quite a cracking pace.

DSCN8186

He’d decided “Enough with the paparazzi already!” and quickly plopped into the lake.

DSCN8194

Thanks to Anna of ‘Una Vista Di San Fermo’ for inviting me to do my second round of the ‘7 Days of Nature’ challenge. If you would like to join in, just post a nature photo on seven consecutive days and link to my blog, so I can come over and admire them.

I’m also linking this to Jude’s garden photography challenge, ‘Get a little closer’.

 

Happy Thursday to you all.

79 comments on “Nature from my bathroom window!

    • Haha. I wish I could send you some of my menagerie to live outside your window, Annalisa. It’s getting a little crowded here, and with mating season soon, who knows how many more? 😯 xx

  1. Pingback: Spiny Ant Eaters are Not Harmful | Camping and Travel Around Australia

  2. I think he is a handsome devil, 6 feet? Not sure how I’d feel about being too close to him, but they aren’t dangerous to humans are they? Maybe cats and small dogs need to be afraid. I once found myself standing very close to a (large) goanna in Australia which gave me a bit of a fright!

  3. a good looking one for sure but at 6 feet, a little too big to be up close. never a dull moment in your part of the world, Sylvia. thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  4. Wow, Sylvia, what a beauty. I looked up that this is a green iguana, and not native to Florida. Amazing that you spotted this outside your bathroom window. Your proximity to nature is impressive.

    • Thanks, Jet. Yes, I read that there are quite a lot of these green iguanas in Florida now, probably because of people keeping baby ones as pets and then releasing them into the wild when they get too big to care for. We have about six around our immediate area, but I’m sure there are more which I don’t see.

  5. I am enjoying your nature photos. Thank you for sharing…. Iggy’s granddad looks awesome….from a safe distance of course.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

