Saturday Haiku: Down with Norovirus!

 

Dinner out last night

Awoke with violent cramps

Bye bye all my food

 

Night spent on my knees

Praying there was nothing left

Today feeling weak

 

Dare not eat or drink

Norovirus is the pits

Please just let me rest

 

I read that Norovirus makes 21 million people sick every year in the US. Now I’m a statistic.

Hope you’re all having a better weekend than I am.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

100 comments on “Saturday Haiku: Down with Norovirus!

  1. I’ve been there too, Sylvia. While traveling! At least you’re at home which is some comfort, I hope. Have a speedy recovery.

  2. Wishing you better Sylvia, it is no fun to have that virus, even though you are part of the statistics. I am sure you rather be on other more pleasant statistics. Take good care and rest!

  3. Sylvia, what a bad way to start the weekend. . . today is the day people used to make baskets of flowers from garden (May Day) and leave on elderly neighbor’s porches. My mom would help us put bows on them. We also used to weave colored paper into placemats, silly but nice memories. Hope you are nearly better. I have had food poisoning from a restaurant and it acts quickly and takes you “down.” I missed this and am so sorry you got the rotovirus. Hard to like a post with this, but I like You! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • What a lovely May Day tradition! Nice memories, but sad that it’s died out now. No, it certainly wasn’t a great way to start the weekend, Robin. Luckily, I think it’s out of my system now. I only drank water yesterday, but this morning I had fruit and coffee for breakfast, and so far, so good. πŸ™‚

      • So far, so good! Yay!! πŸ™‚
        I tend to depend on caffeine and even while sick, knowing it won’t help matters, I drink black pekoe tea. My grandmother (who lived with us from my 3rd year until my 15th year of life- – sadly passed away of heart attack- – and was my brother’s and my “nursemaid”) said, ” Tea prevents weakness and gives you the strength to rally.” I hear Sprite or 7-up is more standard and the sugar helps with energy.

  4. in Italia per ora ci Γ¨ sconosciuto, ma ce ne sono altri simili in agguato…spero di continuare a starne alla larga! Intanto nauguro a te, mia cara, una prontissima guarigione con immediato ritorno alla stanza da bagno, ma solo per fotografare i tuoi straordinari ospiti del giardino
    kisssssssssssssssss

  5. sending you well wishes – and wow – did not know this virus hits so many each year – we heard there is a new doggie flu (out of Chicago in aporil of last year) andwondered if your doggie had it when he was ill – hmmm]

      • Ah, well seafood can be a shocker if it is bad. I have only had a couple of severe allergic reactions in my life and they were both due to shellfish. I still eat it though as I love it! But yes, the results can be horrid and the one time I had hives and was swollen, the whole lot! So glad it is not the Norovirus as that can linger on for weeks being passed from one person to another.

  6. Oh no, Sylvia
    Make sure you sit back and rest
    And feel better soon!

    There’s definitely something going around at present, affecting all of us, it seems! Hope you’re back to normal very soon!

  7. Had second thoughts about hitting the ‘like’ button on this one. So sorry you’ve been so sick. Hoping you’re feeling much better soon!

  8. Take ‘Like’ as an expression of sympathy! I have never heard of the Novo thingy, and sincerely hope it again leaves my conscious mind never to have occasion to return!

  9. I can’t press the like button today. I’m so sorry you became a statistic.
    Cool that you got creative with your haiku but sorry you got inspired in such a horrific way. Not food poisoning? It sounds just awful. Feel better fast.

      • When you are never ill and you are hit with something awful, it’s a shock to the system and psyche. Wham! Glad to hear you are on the upswing now.

  10. I’m so sorry you are sick, Sylvia. How can you be so creative when you are so sick?

    Sincerely,

    Marsha, the Tulare County History Gal

    *Work like you don’t need the money. Love like you’ve never been hurt. Dance like nobody’s watching.* Satchel Paige

    On Sat, Apr 30, 2016 at 9:46 AM, anotherdayinparadise wrote:

    > anotherday2paradise posted: “Dinner out last night Awoke with violent > cramps Bye bye all my food Night spent on my knees Praying there was > nothing left Today feeling weak Dare not eat or drink Norovirus is the > pits Please just let me rest I read that ” >

Comments can start a conversation. :)

