Mundane Monday: Idling Iguanas amongst Wildflowers

In my backyard, prehistoric-looking monsters seem to be the mundane order of the day. Looking out of my bathroom window, as I am often wont to do, I would be most surprised if there wasn’t at least one scaly creature creeping up on me.

DSCN8505

The more energetic members of the Iggy family like to climb up the tree next to the house and sunbathe on the roof. Can you see that beady eye peering at you through the palm fronds, just right of centre?

DSCN8560

The more lethargic ones just dream their day away amongst the wildflowers. (Jude is still looking for wildflowers for her ‘May Garden Photography Challenge’).

DSCN8570

I think young Ignatius is dreaming of asking Ignatia for her scaly foot in marriage.

DSCN7672.jpg

Ignatia, looking very serene,Β  is probably dreaming of a good-looking prince who after only one kiss will turn into a handsome Iguana.

DSCN8584

Poor Basil the Basilisk is a loner and I don’t think he’ll ever find true love, even though he has the look of a bank manager and could be quite a good catch for some young Lizzie.

DSCN8538

How’s your Monday going? If you have any ‘Mundane’ photos which show some kind of beauty, you can pop them over to Jithin at Trablogger for his ‘Mundane Monday Challenge’.

Wishing you all a splendid week, and a very happy and mindful Memorial Day to all my American friends.

 

116 comments on “Mundane Monday: Idling Iguanas amongst Wildflowers

  1. Pingback: Mundane Monday Challenge #62 | PhoTrablogger

  2. Are you having an over populations of iguanas?
    They do have one on Boca Grande. It’s near Englewood. We haven’t had a problem. I’ve seen only two. I’m petrified of them as they are very aggressive. They do photograph very well. Nice posts ….

  3. I was in FL over Memorial week and saw my first iguana. I must say they look quite cute in ‘person’ than on media. It was also sitting quietly in one guy’s hands – I could not believe it. You really have exotic creatures in your neck of the woods.

  4. I love this well illustrated story, Sylvia! It made me smile big time. Basil, the Bank manager looks like a very business-like suitor πŸ™‚

  5. Mundane is definitely not a word I would use to describe your blog photos Sylvia…it’s amazing the wildlife you have in your backyard! The one of ‘Iggy’ peering through the bushes looks quite prehistoric…yes, I saw his beady eye after taking a couple of looks πŸ˜€ xx

  6. I like your photos of Basil and Ignatius. I don’t think I’d call them mundane, though. I’d be thrilled to see them. Of course, you get to see them every time you look out of the window, so I know it’s a bit different for you! πŸ™‚

  7. The cast of your wild neighbors is growing. I like the names you have come up with, so clever! Sylvia, busy and sad to have a few catch up days. Ignatius, Ignatia, Basil and maybe some lucky lizard/iguana named Lizzie will match up with Basil despite his trying to be aloof! Ha ha ha!

  8. Have to agree with Sue….you seem to have a veritable zoo in your back garden. And names for every creature that inhabits it. Hardly mundane Sylvia! πŸ™‚

  9. You make the mundane live an izzy soap opera life. Who knew the inner secrets that lay behind the calm “banker” exterior of the izzy world? The drama of the potential engagement, the broken hearted reject, they capture our wildest imaginations!

  10. Glad to see you catching up on all the gossip in your neighborhood. What a crowd and there for the viewing right out your bathroom window! You won’t believe it, but the slithery fingers of young Ignatius made me think of your lovely lady of the golden fingernails. O_o

  11. You do seem to have a LOT of the scaly things in your new neighbourhood. No more herons? Love the green fingers though; I can just about see a diamond tring on there and I do hope poor Basil finds love soon.

    • One can only wonder how many of these creatures there are. Glad they don’t all congregate in my backyard. πŸ™‚ Yes, the “wicked green fingers” are the stuff nightmares are made of. 😯

  12. Your world looks the furthest thing from mundane to me. Isn’t it funny that for each of us, the mundane is different? I grew to think China was mundane, as well as Oman, although I certainly didn’t feel that way when I first arrived in those places! πŸ™‚

    • Haha Yes, we all have very different interpretations of mundane. I guess it’s all a matter of what we get used to. When I lived in South Africa, seeing the ocean from my window became mundane. I never dreamed that within a few years I’d be living here in Florida, surrounded by scaly critters. πŸ˜€

  13. I still can’t believe that these creatures can be so easily at hand , nowadays
    Did I tell you that through your blog I kind of fell in love with them?…..

Comments can start a conversation. :)

