Fish on Friday

Mr. Anhinga really enjoys a bit of fish on a Friday. “Now where’s that pesky fish disappeared to? I’m sure I saw it only a few seconds ago.”

DSCN8366

“Nope can’t see it. Come out, come out wherever you are!”

DSCN8368

“Coming up for air, but I’m not giving up. Just a few quick breaths and I’ll get that fish if it’s the last thing I do.”

DSCN8369

“Ha! Gotcha! Thought you could hide from me, did you? Well you were wrong.”

DSCN8370

“Sorry to spoil your weekend, but I’m afraid you’re not going to live to enjoy it. Bet you’re feeling like a fish out of water, aren’t you?”

DSCN8372

“You’re a bit bigger than my normal lunch,Β  but let’s get you to dry land and then I’ll be able to maneuver better.”

DSCN8375

“Now, I just have to work out how to get you to fit down the ‘red lane’.

DSCN8377

“Easy does it. Just stop wriggling already! Yep, I got the hang of it now.”

DSCN8379

“Down the hatch you go. *Gulp* I’ve got such a lump in my throat, just thinking of how you won’t be going home for the weekend, but ……….the survival of the fittest and all that.”

DSCN8380

“Nothing like a bit of sushi for lunch! Time to dry off my wings now. Wait till I tell the boys about this. They’re not gonna believe what a BIG fish I caught today.”

DSCN8383

Hope you enjoyed my fishy tale. I’m linking this post to Charlotte’s ‘Feathers on Friday’ challenge,

Happy weekend to you all.

 

 

95 comments on “Fish on Friday

  1. You really kept on top of each part of this true fish tale, Sylvia! Amazing underwater captures and you are right, he was very diligent in his quest to “Eat the whole thing!!” I cannot believe he did! πŸ™‚

  2. Superb storytelling and photos, Ad. πŸ™‚ I did the unforgivable and clicked on the like button from my reader the other day. I was whizzing by looking for someone with no time to spare. But here I am back for a leisurely Sunday morning gaze. Hugs, darlin! πŸ™‚

  3. benritrovata Sylvia, il tuo modo ironico è divertentissimo nel raccontare le avventure del tuo multi zoo, le immagini sono così belle che quasi parlano da sole, ma quel pizzico di ironia in più le fa diventare speciali
    buona domenica

  4. Wonderful photos of the hunting Anhinga, Sylvia. I love that moment when a wading bird swallows the fish and you can see it inside their narrow throat. It’s so great that you captured it in the photo.

  5. Enjoyed very much your fishy tale.

    On Fri, Jun 3, 2016 at 11:05 PM, anotherdayinparadise wrote:

    > anotherday2paradise posted: “Mr. Anhinga really enjoys a bit of fish on a > Friday. “Now where’s that pesky fish disappeared to? I’m sure I saw it only > a few seconds ago.” “Nope can’t see it. Come out, come out wherever you > are!” “Coming up for air, but I’m not giving up. Just a ” >

  6. Great photos! I don’t think I have ever seen one quite like Mr A holding the fish up in his beck…well done for having the patience to catch that sequence. …and happy weekend. ( I am just catching up on our emails after our long flight back from Italy.)

  7. Amazing story of Friday pleasures, Sylvia! And great captures! It’s incredible how they can gulp down a huge fish just like that:)

  8. Love your story – and the shots are amazing! You are very entertaining (“I’ve got such a lump in my throat,…” and you make me smile! I think you should write short stories for children with photos or paintings illustrating them. I bet they would be a success.

  9. Utterly amazing how they get those big fish down that slender looking neck. If I can ever get my last post from the NM bird refuge done, it’s likely to have an egret seemingly choking on ‘something’. It’s not pretty! πŸ™‚

  10. Mr. Anhinga sounds like a James Bond villain . . .

    β€œSorry to spoil your weekend, but I’m afraid you’re not going to live to enjoy it. Bet you’re feeling like a fish out of water, aren’t you?”

Comments can start a conversation. :)

