Feathers on Friday: Egret in the Mist

Yesterday we had a lot of rain, and through my bathroom window I spotted the drenched and bedraggled Snowy Egret, standing in quiet contemplation at the water’s edge.

DSCN8636

If you have photos of any feathered friends, pop them over to Charlotte’s ‘Feathers on Friday’ challenge.

Tonight we’re invited to a cocktail party at our friends’ house, and on Sunday I’ve organised for us to meet for dinner with two lots of new neighbours. Hubby is working away on the renovations as usual and there are encouraging banging noises filtering through to where I’m sitting. Wishing you all a happy weekend.

 

65 comments on “Feathers on Friday: Egret in the Mist

  1. The rain and the spacey look from the egret certainly makes this a unique and beautiful shot. It almost sent me into a trance while eating breakfast… or perhaps I was just struggling to wake up.

  2. questo tuo instancabile maritino Γ¨ una persona davvero speciale! la diamo a lui la corona del castello di Frederiksbogr?
    ha ragione chi ha definito la tua immagine surreale…io aggiungo anche ” evanescente!
    πŸ™‚

  3. I have feathered friends, but not so still positioned like yours. A woodpecker using the starling box, for instance. I only hear his cackling cries in the evening and in the morning I see sticks and feathers in the pool. What shall I take a photo of? His bird’s droppings, haha?
    Beautiful friend of youors. Have a nice Weekend, Sylvia.

  4. A beautiful send off to the weekend, Sylvia! Today must be the day of Egrets as the salt marsh was studded with about 30 of them tonight, like white candles in a huge green cake πŸ™‚ Have a fun weekend learning to know new neighbors!

  5. I think of birds sometimes as winged messengers. In his wet, white feathers with the rainy misty photograph, I dream angel like Michael the Archangel. I am not at all being preachy, just have felt this about birds but this is my first time I see his “wings”as other- worldly. ❀

  6. Spotted one of these beauties at my park earlier in the week. I couldn’t get as close, though, as it was out in the lake and even the telephoto wouldn’t bring me this close. Have a great weekend enjoying all your activities.

    janet

  7. Beautifully done, Sylvia. The egret looks like it is contemplating life…or watching out for its next prey πŸ˜€ Hope the cocktail party will be fun and good luck with the neighbours πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

