B&W Sunday: Diagonals Out In Nature

Paula’s B&W challenge ‘Diagonals’, asks us to to think about the role of lines in photography.

Out walking in nature at the Green Cay Wetlands, I came across many diagonals.

I’m always on the look out for Leo the lion on the walkway, and he was still there.

DSCN8307

Along the boardwalk, the red-winged blackbird was trying his best to hide from view.

DSCN8326

This leaning, dead tree is quite an artistic piece……. don’t you agree?

DSCN8338

Mr. Anhinga was perched on another tree stump.

DSCN2307

 

A very snooty-looking Anhinga with his nose in the air, really looks well against the background of all those diagonal palm fronds.

DSCN8389

From a distance I thought this was an alligator on a log, however on closer inspection it turned out to be just a log on a log, but I’m sure you can also see the resemblance. PLEASE say that you can. πŸ™‚

DSCN8357

I hope you’ve enjoyed all my diagonals. Happy Sunday to you all.

mergeyes_widget

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

104 comments on “B&W Sunday: Diagonals Out In Nature

  1. I did, very much Sylvia! The B&W effect too is stunning. The artistic tree, and yes, I can definitely see how you would think that log is an alligator from a distance, but my favourite is Leo the Lion. Amazing! πŸ™‚ xx

  2. Yup! That looks like a lion. Yup! That looks like art to me. Yup! Looks well against the palm fronds. Yup! You have some wild imagination with that last pic. πŸ˜€

  3. davvero incredibile il tronco con il leone! sembra che salti fuori da lΓ¬ in un attimo! Splendida anche l’immagine su cui campeggia un grande uccello, il tutto in un biano e nero strepitoso! tante bellissime cose per te

  4. Leos face is fantastic, Sylvia! We’ve both had a bit of a feline week πŸ˜‰

    I’m sure the dead stump looks like a gator as well. I took a second look one day at a tree root on my dog walk thinking it was a croc! I think I may have posted it at some stage, but can’t remember when πŸ˜€

  5. Excellent captures for Paula’s challenge Sylvia. I am in love with Leo. Great observation there. πŸ˜€ β™₯

  6. Leo is amazing! I look at the random dots and can’t help seeing a lion. It’s one of the most impressive examples of pareidolia I’ve ever come across. πŸ™‚

  7. Leo’s face is so obvious and once you mentioned it, that was all I could see. It’s funny how patterns appear like that. My parents have a marbled pattern vinyl on their bathroom floor and in part of the repeat is the head of a turbaned man. When I pointed it out, they laughed, but he is there as clear as anything.

    • It’s called pareidolia, when one easily sees people or animals in clouds or other inanimate objects like tree trunks and ‘marble patterned vinyl’. πŸ™‚ When I was a child, I could see a host of faces in my bedroom curtain material. My parents thought I was making a fuss for nothing, but those face were definitely there, looking at me. 😯

  8. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: Diagonals | Lost in Translation

  9. I absolutely love them, and you know what I keep coming to that lion face. What a brilliant find. Thank you, Sylvia. Your shots are getting amazing.

  10. Yes, I can see the Alligator on the log. Crazy how he puts one leg forward and the other back. He must have known you look for diogonals.
    On the other picture I see so many Ahingas. Where do you see the palm fronds?
    Crazy world.

    • Bwahahaha Now I’m not sure which one of us the crazier, Anand. That shoulder shimmying must have affected your mind just a little. I’m really happy that you can see the alligator, though. πŸ™‚

  11. Beautiful B&W rendering for these. The your composition of the dead tree makes it really artistic. You have good imagination to see Mr. A on the log. I thought it is a dragon πŸ™‚

  12. Lovely to wander around your neighbourhood Sylvia. Leo is amazing!

    (BTW the link on your Paula logo isn’t working – I think you have duplicated the URL)

  13. It’s wonderful to see Leo again.

    Also love the shot of the Leaning Tree of Green Cay . . . which reminded me of the Leaning Tower of Pisa . . . which made me think we should have Pizza for dinner.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

