Basil does a bit of tree-hugging

Looking out of my bathroom window this morning, I spotted dear little Basil the Basilisk. He was taking time off from his very stressful bank manager job, to commune with nature.

DSCN8609

This morning he decided to try hugging a tree, so up he scrambled, clinging on for dear life.

DSCN8749

Of course his arms weren’t nearly long enough to reach around, but I’m sure the tree felt the love. Basil stayed like this for a good half hour, before leaping across to share the love with another palm tree trunk.

DSCN8707

I never knew that lizards meditate, but you can definitely see that dreamy glazed-eye look, can’t you? Have you ever tried tree-hugging? I was reading an article about how beneficial it can be to one’s mental and physical health. Maybe I should try it, but I think I’ll wait until the neighbours are away.

Happy Thursday to you all.

 

 

Save

93 comments on “Basil does a bit of tree-hugging

  1. Wonderful photos Sylvia! Yes, a good idea to wait until the neighbours are out before you hug any trees. I read about someone loving their tree so much they married it! Seriously … D) xx

  2. Hi s! Fun post! Ha!
    And side note – when my boys were little we went to a cool program that taught kids wilderness safety and a big motto reinforced was if ever lost to “stop and hug a tree” – because I guess if children get lost on a hike or split from their group / they are less apt to be found if they walk and roam around ! So the message is to stay put (hug the tree) and I guess it works for easier rescues!

    • Thanks, Yvette. Very good advice indeed. Now I’m thinking of that poor little Japanese boy who was abandoned in the woods by his parents. Thank goodness he was found alive and unharmed. They really don’t deserve to have a child.

      • Oh how sad! And they do not deserve to be parents! Oh and one other thing they taught the children ((regarding if they are ever lost)) they said to stsnd with arms out like a bird – or a “t” – when not hugging the tree – to stand near it with arms out to be seen if anyone was looking overhead and showed the kids how arms down only made the head visible –
        Anyhow – how sad about the Japanese boy….

  3. I think I prefer my hummingbirds and swallows, though perhaps not the snails so much. But it’s fun seeing your photos of your neighbors. I can certainly enjoy them better that way.

  4. This is definitely your speciality, Ad! Snooping on small creatures, I mean, rather than tree hugging. Though I’m pretty sure you’ll be a champion tree hugger too. Love it πŸ™‚

  5. perhaps you start with hugging a piece of fire wood? And concerning Meditation: you can start sitting half an hour in front of your lunch, meditating, waiting that it gets more or starts to fly into your mouth…
    Good Friday, Sylvia…..

  6. Fantastic photos, Sylvia. I think you should try tree hugging – it’s good for the soul, apparently (and yes – better when the neighbours are away) πŸ˜‰

  7. Love seeing all your lizard friends! Bet it’s interesting to watch them. You made me laugh about trying the hugging when the neighbors are away. πŸ™‚

    We play lots of hide and seek behind trees, next time I’m hugging one! πŸ™‚

  8. Behind the cool bank manager facade, there is a sweet softie πŸ™‚ ️Maybe Basil is hoping his arms will grow if he keeps stretching them. In any case he is a very likable fellow, please keep him in the news, Sylvia!

  9. I am playing “extreme” catch up, Sylvia. I like when Basil is brown with green stripes,he reminds me of a pair of shoes I once had. His eyes and face look nice, seems he knows you are watching him. πŸ™‚

    • So nice to see you, Robin. Thank you for the ‘extreme’ catch up. I so appreciate it. I have to confess that I’ve never owned brown shoes with green stripes. When were these fashionable? Maybe I missed something.. D Yes, I think Basil’s hearing is very good, as I was photographing him through double glazed windows, but I’m sure he heard the camera beep.

  10. Basil is a cute name and he is cute too (looks like a miniaturized dinosaur). I like the picture that he turns and looks at the photographer. Hmm, tree hugging is beneficial to you mentally and physically.. I can imagine one could build a fence around the tree with a door. You can go in to do tree-hugging and close the door for privacy πŸ™‚

  11. I love little Basil, or Vassilis as we would call him around here! I have a similar little critter ( gecko) in my bathroom. But he’s dead lazy – all he does is cling to the wall

    • Thanks, Marina. Yes, geckos don’t seem to be very active at all. My sister had one that live behind a painting over her fireplace. Maybe he came out at night to forage for food, because he seemed to sleep all day. πŸ™‚

  12. good to see Basil again, Sylvia πŸ™‚ haven’t tried tree hugging but if I do, i’d probably whisper something; perhaps a wish or a secret! πŸ™‚

  13. Never tried tree hugging but do you believe the trees talk to one another, many say they do! Love Basil, what a cool little lizard. Now I could sit and watch lizards for ages, they mean warm weather and summer and sun and they are so cool scampering over the ancient stone walls here in France.

    • Thanks, Susan. I hope that they do talk to one another. I think it’s more of a whisper though which the breeze carries from one tree to another. I could also watch my backyard critters all day. They’re so fascinating. πŸ™‚ I was just reading your story, and really love it! xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

