WPC: Curves I have seen

For this week’s Photo Challenge, Cheri says “Get inspired by the curves around you. From curves in architecture to bends in nature to man-made undulations.”

I think the most impressive curved piece of architecture I’ve ever seen, is the Colosseum in Rome. Opened in AD 80, it was the largest amphitheatre of the Roman Empire, and for many years was the site of gory combats between man and beast.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Not too far away from the Colosseum, in the heart of  the Vatican City, is the curved dome of St Peter’s Basilica, designed by Michelangelo and completed in 1590, twenty-six years after his death. This is the largest dome of Christianity in the world, being 136m high and 42 m in diameter.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERANot to be outdone, today hubby is busy spackling his dome, which is nowhere near as big or fancy as Michelangelo’s, but a lot of work nevertheless. I hope it doesn’t take 44  years to complete.

DSCN8828

In Barcelona are many examples of the gorgeously curvy architecture of Antoni Gaudi. In 1984, La Padrera one of Gaudí’s main residential buildings which has to be one of the most imaginative houses in the history of architecture, was recognised by UNESCO, as World Heritage

DSCF1678

Man has designed beautiful curves, but Mother Nature really does have the best curves of all, and here is a beautiful curve of a rainbow at Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe.

DSCF2550

My post wouldn’t be complete without a couple of my Backyardigans, Tommy and Theresa the painted turtles, with their perfectly curved homes which they carry around on their backs.

DSCN6438

I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend. Tomorrow I’ll have to prise hubby away from his work on the house, and take him out for a Father’s Day dinner.

105 comments on “WPC: Curves I have seen

  1. Absolutely beautiful. Italy has some of the most magnificent architecture no doubt, and your husband also rose to the challenge! Wonderful post and photos Sylvia, love them all.

  2. What a fantastic array of photos for the ‘Curved’ theme Sylvia. I love your ingenuinity! I remember my middle boy telling me about the amazing architecture in Barcelona when he visited on a school trip as part of his A Level Geography course. I’ve yet to visit mainland Spain believe it or not! And I do hope it won’t take your hubby 44 years to finish his dome otherwise you’ll never get your new kitchen 😉 xx

    • Oh yes, me too, Sherri. I’m so dying to get my kitchen finished. Now we’ve been told that a couple of the appliances which we chose, aren’t available. They’re on back-order, so who knows when they will arrive? 😕 We did a tour of Spain and Morocco, and it was absolutely fabulous. I’m sure you’ll get there one day. xx

      • Oh that’s annoying. I hope not too long a wait… I would love to go to Morocco too Sylvia. It’s on the ever-growing list!! xx

  3. Reblogged this on Unmeasured Journeys and commented:
    Don’t you just love how the visual aspects of a particular word can be different depending on someone’s experiences?

    Take the word “curve”. When I think of curve, in my mind, I picture the windy road I live on, the roundness of my son’s trampoline, and the edges of a butterfly’s wings.

    I saw this post on one of my favorite blogs, and I love it because of all the ways “curve” relates to her life. I thought it’d be fun to share it. Thank you, Sylvia for letting me!

  4. tutte le tue curve sono favolose, ne preferisco due
    il colosseo,
    che ne ha da fare invidia a Marilyn Monroe
    e la cupola di tuo marito
    che se ci metterà quarantaanni a finirla avrà senz’altro fatto un capolavoro ! ( e penso avrà anche un bel capo-giro ha ha )
    🙂

  5. Some of the most beautiful curves, Sylvia! I do love Gaudi…but also hubby’s great task there…and those two curved homes are very well made too.

  6. Beautiful curves, Sylvia! I have and loved seen four of them, and love your hubby’s work and your backyard visitors as well! I’m sure his ceiling will take only 44 hours to complete 🙂 Full of admiration ❤

  7. Unusually, I’ve actually visited some of the places you mentioned in your post this time! My wife and I went on honeymoon to Rome, you see. The other beautiful curves I remember from the city were those of the Pantheon — a building in truly spectacular condition given its age. 🙂

  8. in most of the man made curves one recognizes mother nature, human secondary sexual characteristics: breasts, Phallus…
    that is our world. I dont know of what hubby is thinking doing his work at his dome….
    Have a nice Father’s Day together.

  9. Great photos, nice to see the Vatican dome which we saw a few weeks ago, it is just stunning. ( I think your hubby is doing a pretty good imitation! ) I always love to the see Vic Falls with its rainbow…aren’t we lucky to have seen that lovely place?

  10. These are all beautiful photographs of curves.
    Your hubby is creating some wonderful architectural designs. He’s very talented. My hubby is painting our master bedroom. The chaos is a bit much for me. I give you both a lot of kudos for being able to get through this major work that will soon be art.
    Have a WONDERFUL SUNDAY …
    Isadora 😎

  11. You have a wonderful artistic eye and I love how you showcase historic architecture and your modern day life together. Your husband at work on the dome, is icing on the cake. Can you even imagine how much you’re going to love your house when it’s finished? Beautiful post! 🙂

  12. All the best to your husband to finishing painting the dome with a couple of weeks. 🙂 Those are beautiful photos – I could not believe how complicated and massive the Colosseum is when I visited a while back. Your game park yard of a garden has such a variety of wildlife! You are lucky

  13. Gorgeous pictures of man made curves and nature made especially the rainbow curve. That is an awesome capture. Tommy and Theresa ‘s curves are good match together 🙂

    • Yes it was worth it. I think I posted photos of me on the roof a couple of years back, and you remarked that you felt it should be inhabited by Hobbits, but that I fitted in there quite well. 😀

Comments can start a conversation. :)

