Ignatius puts on his happy face

Do you believe that animals can smile? My mom had a little Pomeranian dog who used to greet her with a ‘smile’ when she arrived home. To me, it looked more like a baring of sharp looking teeth and was quite scary, but mom insisted that darling Fluffy was smiling to show she was happy to see her.

Today, I was watching Ignatius as he made his laborious way through the grass towards my bathroom window, where I seem to spend a lot of my time. It’s very hot and humid outside, so can you blame me for preferring to keep watch from my air-conditioned vantage point?

DSCN8834

Suddenly he seemed to sense that he was being photographed, and I swear that he smiled for the camera.

DSCN8833

Do your pets smile at you? I was reading that although until recently, most animal behaviorists believed that an animal’s use of what we call a smile is no more than a collection of conditioned reflexes that move the muscles in the face, new thinking is now allowing for the possibility that animals are expressing happiness when they ‘smile’. Maybe mom was right after all. Ignatius did look happy to see me.

Happy Thursday to you all, and remember that “A smile is the curve that puts everything straight. ~Β  Phyllis Diller

91 comments on “Ignatius puts on his happy face

  1. I’m sure Ignatius is smiling right at you, Sylvia πŸ˜€ I know my dogs smile and they also frown and drop their heads when they’re in trouble πŸ˜‰

  2. You have the best shows from your bathroom window. Anyway your bathroom is so lovely anyway, I would be there often. And if you are greeted with a lovely smile like his, who can resist!

  3. This fellow is happy to see you, for sure… πŸ˜€
    Guess it sings: “Come up and see me, make me smile”. πŸ™‚

    The lovely yorkshire terrier I had until it gone 16 year old – often smiled and always when it wanted something from me… πŸ˜€

  4. I believe that animals do have emotion and can express them. Definitely, it is a smile by Mr. Ignatius. I am wondering now that your bathroom seems to attract these scaly friends so much… hmm.

  5. I have no doubt that some animals smile…. and why not? My older cat in particular definitely smiles with contentment when he is napping in one of his favorite spots.

  6. Lol, he has such a cute smile!! And yes I do believe animals smile , including Felines:) I know when they are smiling , it’s different than iggy , and it’s different than a dog too πŸ™‚ great set of shots Sylvia
    Have a great rest of the week

  7. Ignatius is definitely smiling! But the question is whether he’s just plain happy to see you or whether it’s a bit of a sly smile? He might be planning something πŸ™‚

  8. oh i’m sure your Mom is right and you can see that Ignatius was happy to see you. i’m sure too that he knows the attention you give him and he’s most appreciative. πŸ™‚ great capture, Sylvia! πŸ™‚

  9. beh, questo Γ¨ un ghigni piuttosto che un sorriso! ha ha, ma qui da noi si dice “ogni botte da del vino he ha” e certo quello era il suo modo piΓΉ accattivante per sorridere alla cara Sylvia!
    SΓ¬, certro, gli animali sorridono, hanno anche loro veri sentimenti ed espressioni per farci capire il loro stato d’animo! πŸ™‚
    Ah, quella tua finestra del bagno!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

