Daily Prompt: Clouds I Have Seen

Today’s Daily Prompt ‘Clouds’ reminded me of this Joni Mitchell song from the 1960’s, one of my all-time favourites.

Bows and flows of  angel hair
And ice cream castles in the air
And feather canyons everywhere
I’ve looked at clouds that way

But now they only block the sun
They rain and snow on everyone
So many things I would have done
But clouds got in my way

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now
From up and down, and still somehow
It’s cloud illusions I recall
I really don’t know clouds at all.

Here are some clouds I’ve been privileged to see on my travels around this beautiful world. I thought it might be fun to show some photos where the clouds, although quite prominent, weren’t the real focus for the shot; like this one taken through the window of our tour bus in Ecuador.

DSCF0960

Here’s the relaxing view from our hotel in Myrtle Beach SC.

DSCF0057

Mount Vesuvius looks down on the ruins of Pompeii.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Instantly recognisable beneath the clouds, are the ancient ruins of Machu Picchu.

DSCF0620

The Sri Mariamman temple, rising up to the clouds, is the oldest Hindu temple in Singapore.

DSCF1488

This monster Toucan and his friend Mr. Parrot sit under a cloudy sky in a Costa Rica  waterside park.

DSCN5734

Here under the lowering clouds in Lakota lies the eerie scene of the Battle of the Little Bighorn,  commonly known as ”Custer’s Last Stand’.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This shot of Mount Rushmore taken from the side, shows just the profile of George Washington, one of the four past presidents who are featured in this massive sculpture.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Clouds hovered over La Paz in Bolivia, as we drove down from El Alto  airport at an altitude of almost 12,000 feet.

DSCF0349

Looking down over  Cape Town from Table Mountain,  3,558 feet above Table Bay.

DSCF0038

Clouds over a beach of soft white sand in Punta Cana. Absolute paradise on earth.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t know about you, but just looking at all these photos has given me itchy feet. Time to travel again.  I think  I’ll just go and tell  hubby to hurry up with the house renovations.

Hope you’re all having a great Thursday.

 

 

 

 

Save

Clouds

Save

Save

83 comments on “Daily Prompt: Clouds I Have Seen

  1. Clouds in the sky seem to me a universal special symbol of looking upward in heavenly respect. I love to take photos of clouds but I have not had as many world wide clouds. I really didn’t start taking sky photographs until my blogging days, Sylvia. Your collection is awesome! 🙂

      • From Myrtyl Beach, Pompeii, western U.S. and the Ecuador statue, much more to view than I could possibly say. . . I will head off to see your first Both Sides Now post.
        Did I ever tell you that Joni Mitchell explained that her late in her life’s version of “Both Sides Now” shows “age” and “more meaning” than the first version where both Joni and Judy Collins sang it so upbeat. I had the “newer version” given to me for Christmas about ten years ago. I like how weary she sounds, about life and love, Sylvia. xo

      • What another treat: Peru, Hawaii, Venice Lagoon and South Africa were my Top four from your “Blast from the Past,” Sylvia. Showed my Mom who told me to tell you~ “Thank you for sharing the clouds of the world with us!” ❤ xo
        (Hope this is not a sad nor sore subject, mentioning my Mom. . .)

  2. What amazing places you’ve visited Sylvia with such great photos of clouds around the world! 🙂 I love them all, and would just love to be on that peaceful, beautiful island but the one that had me staring and returning to a couple of times was the site of the Battle of Little Bighorn. I could almost hear the dry grass rustle in the soft breeze…very moving xx

    • When I look at that photo, I feel the goosebumps, just as I did on that evening when we were actually there. The curator was about to close the gates, but took pity on us and allowed us ten minutes inside, as we’d been travelling all day to get there. Such a kind person. I’m sure he was dying to get home for a beer. 🙂

      • I bet, the photo oozes atmosphere so how much more to be actually there? So moving. It was very kind of the curator, and I’m sure he got his beer to make up for it 🙂 xx

      • Yes – and quite a nice song to have an ear worm with – 😉
        And my heart always goes out to Joni because she has a very weird – mystery illness – so does Amy Tan (I think ) and it makes one appreciate health!

      • Yes – I think Lyme is only part of it – but who really knows these days / there are some stubborn “chronic conditions” and for some reason I hear about Joni a lot – but never knew her music that much – and now after this week I know this song!

  3. clouds are a wonderful spectacle and a good backdrop always for fotos. Quite remarkable shots you peresnted to us, yes, travelling is nice. But bombs on Airports not so. Have nice daydreams anyways, Sylvia.

  4. These are beautiful Sylvia especially the last photo! Is Hubbie almost done with renovations or will it be awhile? I’m sure your house will be amazing once it is complete.

  5. Wow Sylvia look at all the incredible places you have been! Wonderful images all of them. I can see why you are getting itchy travel feet. Love that Joni Mitchell song. Did you know she grew up in Saskatchewan Canada where I am from?

Comments can start a conversation. :)

