Thursday’s Special: Descent

Paula’s Thursday’s Special theme is ‘Descent’, and I immediately thought of this photo, taken as we were leaving the Marriott’s Cabiria rooftop restaurant in Rome. The elevator was crowded and we didn’t want to join the queue, so we decided to try the rather impressive spiral staircase route instead. I counted 186 steps on my descent.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Wishing you all a lovely weekend. Our neighbours across the street have very kindly invited us for dinner tonight. They seem like a very sweet couple, and I’m so looking forward to getting to know them better.

(My link button doesn’t seem to work any more. To join in Paula’s challenge, go here. https://bopaula.wordpress.com/2016/06/30/thursdays-special-descent/ )

jupiter-widget_text-e1395873810536

Save

83 comments on “Thursday’s Special: Descent

  1. Great shot of the stairs, looks like velvet carpets? Italy doesn’t do lifts very well…. I’m sure it worked in our favour, because we always had so many stairs to climb after we had eaten a lovely Italian meal!

  2. That’s a gorgeous red carpeted descent! Enjoy your dinner Sylvia. We have been invited for food trials at a new English Tea Room! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Descent | Lost in Translation

  4. I try not to stare down the stair,
    For things then happen to my hair,
    It stands up on end,
    If my head do I bend,
    I believe I must sit in a chair.

    Nice photograph. And that is a lot of stairs.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

