My Sunday Photo: Colourful Carousel

It’s grey and raining here in the ‘Sunshine State’ of Florida, so to brighten my day, here’s a holiday memory from last year. Whilst walking along London’s South Bank, we  came upon this bright and cheerful carousel, which I stood and watched for a while, remembering childhood days of fairground visits complete with sticky candyfloss, toffee apples, coconut shies, and winning a goldfish in a plastic bag which unfortunately got dropped on the way home. £2 in those days was a small fortune.

DSCN9305

Hope you’re all  having a sunny Sunday.

Sundaylge-e1396359989177

 

Save

Save

79 comments on “My Sunday Photo: Colourful Carousel

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a carousel like the ones from my childhood, but I’m seeing them all over Europe now. Every small village that we visited in Alsace region! Can’t wait to take my little one on her first ride on one. 🙂

  2. thank you for story telling “winning a goldfish in a plastic bag which unfortunately got dropped on the way home…” P.S.: in my childhood, I had only 4 little plastic fishes

  3. One almost needs sunglasses to look at that vibrant piece of fun. I can’t help but smile to look at it. No matter how old one is who wouldn’t love to ride a carousel?

  4. What!!! Raining in the Sunshine State? An aberration! Normal service resumed, I’m sure. 🙂 I love carousels. Here I go again- Hollies song. Why does it make me think of that? Hugs!

  5. Gorgeous sunshine shared so generously with all of us here. Thank you, Sylvia for the London, England fair food details with a beautiful carrousel added to create a holiday mood. 🙂

  6. Beautiful capture! And poor fishy!! Your post makes me think of my going to a place called Sunset park as a young girl several times every summer, riding the carousel and doing ‘penny-pitch’ to try to win a dish, which one summer I finally got a penny that stayed in & I won the dish. I still have that dish to this day (wrapped up in storage right now!) 🙂

  7. That is a sparkly fun picture. It’s bright and sunny here. We have our Kiwanis July 3rd Blast in our city park tonight, so set up was early this morning to avoid the 100-degree heat. Have a wonderful day with your peeping sun. 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

