It’s Wild Out There

It seems that we are being taken over by Iggys these days. Everywhere I look, there are green heads popping up out of the grass, and also peeping at me though the palm tree trunks. “Hi there!”

DSCN9126

Igasho is the Grand-Daddy of them all, and lately he’s been spending a lot of time lazing around in our backyard.

DSCN9171

He’s beginning to turn orange, which probably means that he’s looking for a mate. Yesterday, I went outside to have a chat and he turned to see who was approaching.

DSCN9158

I guess I’m just not his type, because he rather rudely turned his back on me and stalked off with his nose in the air.

DSCN9160

Happy Tuesday to you all. Tomorrow i have a very much smaller wild thing to show you.

 

 

 

96 comments on “It’s Wild Out There

  1. You are having quite a few iguanas visiting. All of the ones we had here on the West coast were relocated. I hope they weren’t taken to your coast. I heard they were being taken to the Everglades. 😳
    They do have magnificent colors. It’s shame man and beast are stepping over each other. Wonderful widllife photographs, Sylvia.
    Issy 😎

  2. You’re so funny with your personificiations of these critters, Sylvia. I love how you’re “just not his type, because he rather rudely turned his back on [you] and stalked off with his nose in the air.” Cute! And great captures. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I think there must be a whole zoo community in the trees at the side of the lake. They come out to sun themselves on our back lawn during the daytime. Who knows what they get up to at night. πŸ™‚

  3. Turning orange when looking for a mate is an interesting system. It would have been useful when I was a university student. There was a lot of second-guessing going on from all sides in those days.

  4. Aww, he obviously doesn’t have good taste in women! ❀ You would think he would try a little romance on you, practice up for the next cute "Miss Iggy" out there! πŸ™‚

      • I can’t believe he’s 5 feet LONG. I’m 5’11”. That is one big critter! πŸ™‚ Bet you’re kind of glad you’re not his type. πŸ™‚

        Just curious about the habitat there. Is it near a swamp or sand? I guess I didn’t realize there were so many of them around.

        Lucky us, they’re rather cute, in their own way. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, I am relieved he didn’t fancy me. πŸ˜€ There are lots of trees down the side of the lake here, and I’m sure they are buzzing with all kinds of wildlife. I’m sure I don’t know the half of what goes on in there. 😯

  5. Hmm, I think he made a mistake to turn away from you πŸ˜‰ I am now wondering how people there mow their lawn with many of Iggy clans everywhere. I would be scared to the yard work.

  6. I was just going to ask the same as someone else, how big are they? Not being familiar with them and never having seen them when we lived in Florida, I am finding this quite fascinating.

  7. I know rejection can be hard to take but do keep in mind that Iggy is a lizard, after all. I’m not one to give advice but I try to aim for individuals a little higher on the food chain. πŸ˜€

  8. Wow… I just can’t even imagine seeing all these critters:) I’m going to have to pay closer attention when I’m back in Tampa and see how many I can find;). Beautiful detail Sylvia

Comments can start a conversation. :)

