Feathers on Friday: Miss Muscovy Pays A Visit

This morning I woke up with a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach, remembering the horrendous news last night of the dreadful attack on innocent people in Nice. There are no words to describe the absolute revulsion I feel for terrorists who plan and carry out such cowardly and evil deeds. Where will it all end?

I wasn’t going to do a post today, but then hubby called me to come and look at a cute Muscovy duck out in our back yard. There is something so comforting and calming about nature, isn’t there? I grabbed my camera, sure that as soon as I opened the door,Β  the duck would run away, but thankfully it didn’t. Thinking back to the one which accosted me outside the pharmacy a while ago, I think this one might have been expecting a handout. Anyway, I just stood and took a few photos, and she, looking so serene, didn’t move. She seemed to be fascinated by me and the beep of my camera.

DSCN9284

Off to the right, was little Sammy with his mouth stuffed full as usual.

DSCN9282

He decided to come a bit closer and check out the new visitor to his patch.

DSCN9285

Having decided that she presented no threat to his food stash, he hopped away, and she stood patiently waiting for me to do the same. I love that look on her face, “Okay, so you’ve got your photos. You can go now. ”

DSCN9267

I wish you all a peaceful and safe weekend.

If you have photos of any of your feathered friends, just pop over to Charlotte’s ‘Feathers on Friday’ post.

 

 

 

 

81 comments on “Feathers on Friday: Miss Muscovy Pays A Visit

  1. The serenity of nature is indeed a great antidote to the madness Sylvia. Why can’t the haters just hate without feeling the need to kill?

  2. Thank goodness for the peace we can find in nature. We need it more than ever now. I have never seen a Muscovy Duck but she is just beautiful. And I love Sammy The Squirrel and the duck checking each other out!

  3. You know the duck and squirrel help provide comfort and a sense of normalcy to people who love nature and wildlife. Thanks for spreading comfort and peace around, like a cozy warm blanket from the dryer, dear Sylvia. ❀

  4. so heartbreaking Sylvia. i cried for nice since my daughter and i were just there in 2014. glad you take comfort in the beauty and serenity of your surroundings. thank you for sharing; we all need that. hugs πŸ™‚

  5. These days I have to say it’s a relief to go work on the renovations at the new/old house where there is no internet and just barely a cell phone signal. Being on the bank of a peaceful creek with bird calls all around tends to make me forget the crazy things going on in the world these days. Call it escapism, but it’s good for the soul as was your out to visit Ms Muscovy and Sammy.

  6. It’s impossible to understand why some people can commit such senseless murders. Sometimes I wonder if we human beings are moving forward at all. Then of course so much beauty exists in the world, too, like you have shown here. I love those photos of mother duck.

  7. Senseless killings make no sense ~ logic stalls when faced with insanity.

    Nature nurtures!

    When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace.
    ~ Jimi Hendrix

  8. Love the photo of Sammy and Ms M eying each otherπŸ˜„. There are no words to describe the levels of violence we are witnessing – lots in your country tooπŸ˜”. Nature makes more sense – even when it’s violent, it’s for a reason.

  9. Exceptionally pleasant useful blog….You are correct, you can feel the tranquility from her. She kind of have a delicate grin at you.
    the photo of Miss Muscovy is so cute….

  10. I agree, very sad to hear about the senseless killing in Nice. The lovely Miss Muscovy is somehow very comforting, she looks very content and very well looked after!

  11. I love that picture with her and Sammy. Very sweet. Animals crack me up. They’re just themselves no matter who’s around. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you posted this. πŸ™‚

  12. Aww she does give you a peaceful sense doesn’t she Sylvia. It’s gotten so I hate to turn on the tv.. I’m saddened by yesterday’s events, thank you for such a calming photo:)

    • Thanks, Anabel. Yes, I’m so fortunate with all my visitors here. They help keep me sane……well sort of. πŸ™‚ So much dreadful news that it’s really hard to keep up with all the sadness and tragedy going on. 😦

  13. Nature creates a special bond, in this case very calming. So many sad events that seem to have no end. Best wishes to you this weekend Sylvia.

  14. I’m glad you shared these photos, Sylvia. Despite all of the horrendous acts that have occurred lately, I still believe there’s good in this world. I hope you and your hubby have a wonderful weekend. xo

  15. Sylvia like you I went to be nauseated last night. We walked that promenade two years ago i Nice. My heart breaks. On top of that last night a missing 5 year old here was found murdered. I am grateful this morning for your beautiful photos and the joy that nature brings to us in what seems like a world gone mad.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

