Pastels of the Cinque Terre

Ailsa’s Travel Theme ‘Pastel’ had me remembering our lovely Italian trip, part of which was a boat ride to the picturesque World Heritage Cinque Terre, which is made up of group of five small towns;  Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, all the pastel-painted homes perched amongst the terraces on the rugged hillside are so close together, that they almost seem to be propping one another up.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the small harbour town of Vernazza, the jewel of the Cinque Terre which dates back to 1080. This fishing village has a Medieval castle, a bell tower, and no car traffic. Only once a week are a few trucks and cars allowed in to  bring supplies for the Tuesday market.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This collection of enchanting small towns along the Ligurian Sea, are among the most colourful destinations in Europe.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Wishing you all a relaxing and wonderful weekend.

To visit Ailsa’s challenge and see her beautiful pastels, click the badge.

47fdb579d162c2aa61439b1378ecb39c

 

 

 

 

Save

88 comments on “Pastels of the Cinque Terre

  1. How beautiful! I’ve already let it be known that when I return to San Marino, Cinque Terra will a stop before or after my visit. Your photos have done nothing to dissuade me. 🙂

  2. I haven’t seen many photos of the houses in this area … Looks so colourful & the houses must be well built… Perched as they are on the side of the mountain!

    • Thanks, Gerrie. I imagine that they must have very strong foundations. A month after we visited in September 2011, they had torrential rains which caused mudslides and flooding. Several lives were lost, and of course much damage was done. Very sad indeed.

  3. I probably shared on your blog, I have been dating an Italian man for 4 months now. The real reason I may have shared, he is so nice and gentlemanly! He mentions his parents’ families are still over there and he has been there more than 3 times. I get excited with the “possibility” of my going there. I can always hold on to this hope. . . Sylvia, playing my Saturday catch up game after a 48 hour work week! 🙂 xo

  4. Lovely views of these pastel houses in the small town near the sea. For this size of town, I am wonder everyone knows every one. Also, I am guessing that there might be town code for color choices to pain their homes.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

