Thursday’s Special: Cornish Seascape

Paula’s Thursday’s Special Challenge is ‘Seascape’.

Here is a seascape along the Cornish Coast, which includes a view of the old Towanroath pumping station at Wheal Coates, the old tin mine which lies between Porthtowan and St Agnes. The mine opened in 1802 and was worked until 1889, and in 2006 was granted UNESCO’s World Heritage Status.

DSCN2937

Happy Thursday to you all. To see Paula’s challenge and her her beautiful seascape,Β  just click the link.

jupiter-widget_text-e1395873810536

86 comments on “Thursday’s Special: Cornish Seascape

  1. It looks like Heather on the hillside, simply divine. Both in “gorgeous” and “from God,” meanings or definitions. Sylvia, I am so happy! Things are going smoothly in my dating situation. I think I am crushing in someone after 130 days of knowing him. Perfect Saturday night date. Pretty pictures make me dream of traveling! xo

  2. This is a lovely seascape, one of my favourite subjects. A great composition with an amazing angle of view. Wonderful scenery.

  3. Now there’s a place I know so well! Quite a surprise seeing it pop up on your blog Sylvia but of course you went when you visited and we met up didn’t you? Smashing picture!

  4. Oh, love it! I have a backlit shot from this vantage point virtually….I prefer your version! I must post mine, now I have mentioned it and you can see that yours beats it! πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

  5. This is on our favourite walk and is about 12 minutes from home! So lovely to come across it here on your blog!
    All the tin mine buildings and workings have UNESCO World Heritage Status and this year it is the 10th Tinth Anniversary of being awarded that status which is being celebrated in grand style throughout Cornwall as The Man Engine has visited site after site. Do have a look at my post to see how wonderful this has been.
    https://mybeautfulthings.com/2016/08/02/the-man-engine-in-redruth/ and https://mybeautfulthings.com/2016/08/05/penzance-soap-box-derby-and-the-man-engine/
    Thank you for showing your readers this beautiful low tide view. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Seascape | Lost in Translation

  7. Oh my, this takes me back to some past life. I can see horses galloping this beach. You have risen high up for this one and with a great result to show. As I said to Jo today, I love seascape and even more if it has a structure on. A cracker, Sylvia!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

