A Singles’ Weekend.

I saw quite a lot of single creatures over the weekend, who all seemed to have a song to sing.

First up was Iggy’s rendition of The Beatles’…. “She came in through the bathroom window.” Yikes!

DSCN9790

Sammy was singing his remake of Bing Crosby’s ” Swingin’ on a Star/Bird-Feeder.”

DSCN9811

Mr Anhinga, sitting way over in the pine trees didn’t have a date for Saturday night and mournfully sang Roy Orbison’s “Only the Lonely.”

DSCN9855

Mr. Blue Jay has just released his own cover version of Guy Mitchell’s “Singing The Blues.”

DSCN8468

The Northern Cardinal was looking rather unhappy without his “Lady in Red.”

DSCN9846

Daisy Duck was paddling around searching for “Danny Boy.”

DSCN9863

Serious Basil the Basilisk who seems destined to stay single, gave a rather staid performance of Cliff Richard’s “Bachelor Boy.”

DSCN7955

Last but not least is little Anatole the Anole, who having found himself a desirable residence right next to my front door, spends his days singing Queen’s ” Can Anybody Find Me Somebody to Love.”

DSCN9669

I hope you all had a splendid weekend and that your week will not be a lonely one.

 

 

 

103 comments on “A Singles’ Weekend.

  1. Often,my tablet doesn’t behave…
    yesterday I could see the read and not the photos in your latest post…
    Now , everything seems to work and your images are awesome, Sylvia!
    Great post , I must say!

  2. Sylvia you seem like an excellent organizer. Might I suggest you get a choir going in the backyard. You shall make the perfect conductor! Off you go now and I expect to see video of your musical group in the near future. Oh yes and check the lock on that bathroom window. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for your faith in my organizational skills, Sue. I’ll see what I can do, but of course we’ll have to have auditions first. I’ve never heard Sammy make a noise, but I believe squirrels have rather a hoarse voice. Iguanas apparently purr like a cat. The birds of course can sing, because that’s what birds do, so I think we have the makings of a choir here, which could be a You Tube sensation.

      • Trust me squirrels when frightened can make quite the ‘music’. Yes if you manage your little choir I do believe YouTube hits will be in the zillions. πŸ™‚

  3. I guess since most of them are reptiles and birds and therefore don’t have fur, there’s little chance of getting Pink Floyd’s “Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving with a Pict.”

  4. While your wildlife was singing pop singles, the amphibious libidinous crooners on our lagoon were courting up a storm. Given the cacophony of croaks, they scored BIG on Friday and Saturday nights.

  5. Music is to be found everywhere. This was a great post and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you.
    I’ve spent more time in my yard this summer than I have in a long timeThe variety of birds that “visit” has been surprising. They certainly keep me out there hoping to see more. πŸ™‚

  6. Fun post, Sylvia; and great to see the famous bathroom window. All of your creatures (and photos) are terrific. I love the basilisk lizard, can never get enough of them…lucky you.

  7. Love Mr Cardinal. When we were in Florida we had a pair of Cardinals who nested in our Bougainvillea right outside the house, we took photos of the baby chicks and watched them daily, such pretty birds.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

